South Africa’s Chris Morris signs Vitality T20 Blast deal with Hampshire

This is Morris’ second Vitality T20 Blast stint as he had played six games for Surrey three years ago.

Chris Morris of South Africa
Chris Morris of South Africa. (Photo by Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty Images)

View : 5.5K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

South African All-rounder Chris Morris’ week has gotten better after getting a call-up to the Proteas World Cup squad after Anrich Nortje was ruled out with a fractured right thumb. Morris was overlooked in the original squad which was announced in April and has been part of the Delhi Capitals team in the ongoing IPL 2019.

Now to add to his joy, Morris has been signed by English county side Hampshire to play in the upcoming season of Vitality T20 Blast which will be played in July and August and Morris will join former Proteas teammates Rilee Rossouw and Kyle Abbott in the team.

This is Morris’ second Vitality T20 Blast stint

This is 32-year-old Morris’ second Vitality T20 Blast stint, as he had played six games for Surrey, three years ago. Morris is also familiar with Hampshire coach Adil Birrell, who had previously worked as South Africa’s assistant coach.

Morris has a very good T20 record which sees him making 1410 runs and taking 215 wickets in 171 T20 matches. Currently, a part of Delhi Capitals’ side in IPL 2019 and has taken 13 wickets in 9 matches with a best of 3/22. Overall, he has played in IPL for four sides — Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Delhi Daredevils, and Rajasthan Royals and has 69 wickets in 61 IPL matches (stats till May 8, 2019) and has also scored 517 runs with two fifties and the best score of 82 not out.

He played the last of his four Tests in July 2017 and the last of his 34 ODIs in February 2018. Apart from Morris, Dwaine Pretorius has also signed on for a T20 Blast stint with Northamptonshire in late April.

The second season of the ECB run T20 tournament will see 18 FC counties being divided into two divisions and matches taking place from July to September. The defending champions are Worcestershire Rapids and the finals of the tournament will be played in Birmingham on September 21, 2019.

[interaction id=”5ccd6d146fdf9a5f2ae43bdb”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier League, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on