Sri Lanka Announced 16-member Squad for Bangladesh Tri-series |

Sri Lanka announce 16-member squad for Bangladesh tri-series

The series commences on January 15, 2018.

Sri Lankan Team |
Sri Lankan team. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) recently announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming tri-nation series in Bangladesh. The series will involve Zimbabwe as the third side other than the hosts and the Sri Lankan team. Sri Lanka will also be playing a Test series and a T20I series against Bangladesh after the conclusion of the tri-series.

While the squads for the Tests and the T20I side will be announced later, the board has named a very strong unit for the tri-series. Clearly, the board is keen on getting the form of the team on the right track after a very disappointing year of 2017. Talking about the squad, veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews is set to return to the side. He had injured himself during the recent international assignments against India.

Mathews is also all set to lead the side on the tour in the ODI format. Meanwhile, senior cricketer Dinesh Chandimal was also a top contender to be named the captain. Eventually, the selectors have gone ahead with Mathews to lead the side for the series. The side also boasts of senior cricketers Upul Tharanga and Thisara Perera. Interestingly, the young duo of Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis are back on the fold for the islanders.

The team has stuck to the services of wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella despite his poor run in the series against India. In the bowling department, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep are the frontline pace bowlers. Among the spinners, Akila Dananjaya is the big name who would be expected to play a major role in the series.

Among the lesser experienced cricketers, Wanidu Hasaranga and Shehan Madushanka have found places in the squad. The team will depart for Dhaka, Bangladesh on January 13. The series commences on January 15, 2018.

Here is the Sri Lanka squad for the tri-nation ODI series:

Angelo Mathews (c), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Shehan Madushanka, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandaka, Wanidu Hasaranga.

Catch more developments on this and top leading cricket news on CricTracker.