Sri Lanka name squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games Qualifier, Chamari Athapaththu to lead

The Sri Lankan side is expected to travel to Malaysia on 9th January 2022.

Chamari Athapaththu
Chamari Athapaththu of Sri Lanka. (Photo by Harry Trump-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

View : 773

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the Sri Lankan Women’s squad that will take part in the ICC Commonwealth Games Qualifier tournament this year. The side is expected to travel to Malaysia to feature in the tournament on 9th January 2022.

This squad has also been approved by Mr. Namal Rajapaksa who is the Minister of Youth and Sports. This tournament will take place in the T20 format of the game.

As per the schedule, the Sri Lankan side will first take on Scotland on 19th January 2022, after which they will lock horns with the Kenya side on 20th January 2022. On 22nd January, Sri Lanka will face Malaysia, while the Sri Lankan outfit will take on Bangladesh on 24th January 2022. All matches will take place at the Kinrara Oval.

Chamari Athapaththu to lead the Sri Lankan side

Chamari Athapaththu will lead the Sri Lankan side in this tournament, while Harshita Madavi will be her deputy. Athapaththu has a truckload of experience in the limited-overs format of the game.

She has represented the Sri Lankan side in 84 ODIs and 85 T20Is. While the left-hander has plundered 2625 runs in the ODI format of the game, Athapaththu has amassed 1646 runs in T20I cricket.

On the other hand, Harshita Madavi has played 13 ODIs and 13 T20Is for the Sri Lankan outfit. Madavi has scored 253 runs in ODI cricket, while she has collected 119 runs in T20I cricket.

Here is the complete Sri Lankan squad for the tournament

Chamari Athapaththu (C), Harshita Madavi (VC), Hasini Perera, Nilakshika Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Sachini Nisansala, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Vishmi Rajapaksa, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Tharika Sewwandi, Prasadini Weerkkody, Achini Kulasuriya