Sri Lanka vs England: ECB announces the 16-man squad for the ODI series

Sri Lanka vs England: ECB announces the 16-man squad for the ODI series

Plunkett will miss the first three match due to his wedding.

England v India - 2nd ODI: Royal London One-Day Series
England team. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the squad for the upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka. England’s tour to the island nation starts with five One-Day Internationals with the first of them set to be played on October 10. They are also set to play a couple of warm-up One-Day games before the series begins. Liam Plunkett will miss the first three matches of the series due to his wedding and the uncapped Warwickshire seamer Olly Stone has been called up to the squad as his replacement.

Also, David Willey hasn’t been considered for this tour as he is nursing a back injury and is not fully fit. The official website of ECB revealed the news as Eoin Morgan continues to lead the World number 1 side. Liam Dawson has also made it to the line-up as the third spinner in addition to Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali.

Curran brothers in the squad

The selectors have picked both Sam Curran and Tom Curran in the squad for the sub-continent tour and their contributions will be crucial during the series. While the former has impressed immensely in the recent Test series against India, his brother has already played the ODIs and is back fit now. Both of them would be looking to make an impact together in the playing XI.

Alex Hales and Ben Stokes, who were charged by ECB’s disciplinary committee on Tuesday for bringing the game into disrepute, have also found a place in the touring party. The confidence of the team is high and with Sri Lanka struggling in the limited-overs format, the visitors should be touted as the favourites.

England ODI squad

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

[interaction id=”5ba23bf4424674294175d318″]

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.