Star India announces screens for Asia Cup broadcast

Star India announces screens for Asia Cup broadcast

Star India are the official broadcasters of the tournament.

IPL 2018 (BCCI)
Star India (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Asia Cup is scheduled to take place from September 15 to 28 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Six teams will grace their presence in 13 matches to be played over two weeks. Dubai and Abu Dhabi are the venues for the encounters. While. Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan’s participation are confirmed, six other sides teams will fight for the remaining spot in the event.

Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Malaysia, Singapore and hosts UAE will play the qualifiers. India are also listed to play two back-to-back matches against the qualifying team and Pakistan on September 18 and 19 respectively. The format has also been designed in a way which means that arch-rivals India and Pakistan will cross swords a minimum of two times provided something miraculous doesn’t happen.

Nine channels and Hotstar

Star India are the official broadcasters of the tournament and they recently announced nine of their channels which will telecast the contests. Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi, Star Sports 1 Hindi HD, Star Sports Select, Star Sports Select HD, Star Sports 2,  Star Sports 2 HD and Star Sports Tamil are the channels as per reports in Inside Sport.

Hotstar, the Star Sports-owned Over the top (OTT) platform will stream all the matches online. The previous edition of the Asia Cup took place in 2016 in Bangladesh. India are the defending champions as they beat the home team in a closely-fought final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. The event was played in a T20 format bearing in mind the World T20 in India that followed.

The 50-over World Cup will be played next year in England and Wales and the Asia Cup is expected to be important as far as preparing for the mega event is concerned. India and Pakistan will also lock horns in the ten-team world tournament at Old Trafford in Manchester on Sunday, July 16.

[interaction id=”5b6bf44fcd0ad7001c270b73″]

For more news and developments, stay tuned on