Stats: Batsmen scoring successive hundreds in Champions Trophy

Stats: Batsmen scoring successive hundreds in Champions Trophy

Here's an account of batsmen who dominated the tournament with two successive hundreds.

Shikhar Dhawan
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – JANUARY 31: Shikhar Dhawan of India bats during the International Twenty20 match between Australia and India at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 31, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Nolan – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

The eighth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy is set to begin in a couple of days. The tournament will be hosted in England and Wales for the third time and second consecutive occasion. India defeated England in the finals of the Champions Trophy of 2013 to clinch their second title.

Shikhar Dhawan starred in the previous edition of the tournament for the champions by scoring two successive hundred in the tournament. India started the tournament on a positive note against South Africa, thanks to a ton from the opener Dhawan. He scored a blistering knock of 114 to demoralize the Proteans. He later scored yet another ton against the West Indies to continue his domination and sublime form.

The southpaw scored a magical 102* and took India to the finals single-handedly with an essential half century against Sri Lanka, chasing a low target. India managed to lift their second title at the Oval in the finals against England. They had shared the title with Sri Lanka as the match was washed out at Colombo in 2002.

It was known as the ICC Knockout Cup until the tournament of 2000. That edition of CT belonged to Saeed Anwar from Pakistan and Royal Bengal Tiger Sourav Ganguly who lit up the tournament held in Kenya. Anwar scored an unbeaten knock of 105 against the Sri Lanka and followed it up with a brilliant 104 against the eventual champions of the tournament New Zealand.

Sourav Ganguly dominated the series for India as he scored a destructive inning of 141 against South Africa and subsequently scored a crucial knock of 117 against the Kiwis. Upul Tharanga and Chris Gayle are the other names to hold the extraordinary feat of scoring successive hundreds in Champions Trophy. They lit up the entire tournament with the help of their knocks in the 2006 edition of the tournament.

Here is the list of Batsmen scoring successive hundreds in Champions Trophy:

No No Player Runs Team Opposition Ground Match Date
1 1 Saeed Anwar 105* Pakistan v Sri Lanka Nairobi (Gym) 8-Oct-00
2 Saeed Anwar 104 Pakistan v New Zealand Nairobi (Gym) 11-Oct-00
2 1 SC Ganguly 141* India v South Africa Nairobi (Gym) 13-Oct-00
2 SC Ganguly 117 India v New Zealand Nairobi (Gym) 15-Oct-00
3 1 WU Tharanga 105 Sri Lanka v Bangladesh Mohali 7-Oct-06
2 WU Tharanga 110 Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe Ahmedabad 10-Oct-06
4 1 CH Gayle 101 West Indies v England Ahmedabad 28-Oct-06
2 CH Gayle 133* West Indies v South Africa Jaipur 2-Nov-06
5 1 S Dhawan 114 India v South Africa Cardiff 6-Jun-13
2 S Dhawan 102* India v West Indies The Oval 11-Jun-13


Stats Courtesy: H R Gopalakrishna