Stats: Ishan Kishan and Ajinkya Rahane slam hundreds in the Deodhar Trophy final

Stats: Ishan Kishan and Ajinkya Rahane slam hundreds in the Deodhar Trophy final

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during India C’s innings in the final.

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India C, who stood at jaws of getting knocked out from the Deodhar Trophy, are on the course of winning the tournament thanks to Ishan Kishan’s scintillating knocks. The keeper-batsman scored a 60-ball 69 in the virtual knockout against India B along with the centurion Shubman Gill. In the final, Kishan started on slow side scoring only six from his 31 balls but took on the spinners in the middle-overs to bring up his hundred in only 76 balls.

His opening partner and India C captain Ajinkya Rahane scored an unbeaten 144 to help his team finish on 352/7. Rahane and Kishan added 210 runs for the first wicket in just 30.3 overs before a controversial LBW decision brought an end to the latter’s blitz that included 11 fours and six sixes.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during India C’s innings in the final:

6 – Number of sixes Ishan Kishan struck during his century. He is only the third player to hit as many maximums in a Deodhar Trophy game. Yusuf Pathan smacked eight sixes in the 2009/10 game for West Zone against North Zone. The Baroda all-rounder hit the same number of sixes on two different games in 2006/07 and 2009/10. JP Yadav had hit six sixes during the 1997/98 game for Central Zone.

20y 101d – At the age of 20 years and 101 days, Ishan Kishan became the second youngest player to score a century in a Deodhar Trophy final. Sourav Ganguly was the youngest as he surpassed the three-figure mark in the 1990/91 season for East Zone at 18 years and 186 days. Overall, Kishan is the 7th youngest centurion in the Deodhar Trophy.

76 – Ishan Kishan’s 76-ball century is the joint-fastest century in the Deodhar Trophy final. Dinesh Karthik also scored his ton off 76 balls when he represented Tamil Nadu in the 2016/17 final against India B.

Overall, this is the joint 3rd fastest in Deodhar Trophy history. Kedar Jadhav scored a 69-ball 114 in the 2011/12 semi-final for West Zone taking 64 balls for the hundred. Yusuf Pathan scored a hundred in the 2006/07 edition in only 74 deliveries for West Zone.

76 – Ishan’s century in this game was his third in List A cricket. All the three tons have been recorded in 2018 and the left-hander completed centuries in 76 deliveries. He scored 73-ball ton against Services in February and a 74-ball century against Assam last month.

144* – Ajinkya Rahane’s unbeaten 144 is the highest individual score in a Deodhar Trophy final. The previous highest was 129 by TE Srinivasan for South Zone against West Zone in the 1980/81 edition. Overall, only three players have registered a higher individual score in Deodhar Trophy history.

210 – The 210-run opening stand between Rahane and Ishan is the 2nd highest stand in a Deodhar Trophy final. West Zone’s Anshuman Gaekwad and Ghulam Parkar added 211 for the opening wicket against North Zone in the 1983/84 final.

1, 2, 1 – India C batsman Suresh Raina scored four runs (1, 2, 1) in this Deodhar Trophy. His average of 1.33 is the second lowest for any player in an edition of Deodhar behind L Balaji’s 0.67 (2 runs in 3 inns) in the 2002/03 season.

In his maiden Deodhar Trophy appearance in 2004/05, Raina amassed 310 runs which are the second most number of runs in a single edition of Deodhar history.