Sunil Gavaskar makes a shocking pick in his India’s World Cup squad

Some big names excluded as well.

Indian team
Indian team. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

India’s squad for the World Cup 2019 will be announced in the second half of the day on 15th April. However, former Indian opener Sunil Gavaskar gave his thoughts about the same. He announced his 15-member squad for the quadrennial tournament and has got some surprising picks in it. One of the players that Gavaskar picked is completely out of the equation and no one would even think of him. Also, he excluded some of the big players from the side.

Who is the fourth pacer?

India’s first eleven for the World Cup is pretty much certain. Thus, there are no astonishments here. Virat Kohli will be leading the side while Rohit Sharma will be his subordinate. Shikhar Dhawan has done well for the team in the last two years and hence finds a place. After his scintillating performances in the IPL, Sunny G is convinced to have KL Rahul in the side.


While MS Dhoni will be the primary wicket-keeper, Sunil Gavaskar picked Rishabh Pant as the other. He ignored Dinesh Karthik, who doesn’t seem to be in great touch in the IPL. Kedar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya find a spot in the 15. Kedar is quite an important member of the side while Hardik has been in terrific form of late. This duo will be the finishers. Vijay Shankar is picked as the other all-rounder ahead of Ravindra Jadeja while Ambati Rayudu is ignored.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav will be the two spinners in the side. Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami have sealed their spots in the squad. There have been several suggestions about the fourth pacer. Quashing them all, Sunil Gavaskar picked up Deepak Chahar. The pacer has fared well in the ongoing IPL and thus managed to impress the former cricketer.

Sunil Gavaskar’s Squad: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuveshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on