Tabraiz Shamsi apologises to Umpire for poor misconduct during CPL Final

Tabraiz Shamsi apologises to Umpire for poor misconduct during CPL Final

Shamsi was a member of Patriots run to the final of CPL 2017.

Tabraiz shamsi
Tabraiz Shamsi (Patriots) celebrates wicket. (Photo By Ashley Allen/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Proteas spinner Tabraiz Shamsi has apologised to the umpire Gregory Brathwaite for his poor behaviour during the final of CPL final on Saturday. Earlier today the spinner was fined 50 percent of his match fees for ‘serious dissent’ during the game. Caribbean Premier League (CPL) was won by Trinbago Knight Riders for the second time in 5 years courtesy Kevon Cooper blitz.

The final was played between St. Kitts Nevis and Patriots and Trinbago Knight Riders at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad. Patriots posted a competitive total of 135 in their 20 overs on a sluggish surface. In reply, Knight Riders never looked in control of the chase and at one stage looked down and out at 90/7. But Denesh Ramdin and Kevon Cooper didn’t give up and took the game deep. With 22 required off the final 2 overs, Cooper launched an assault on Ben Hilfenhaus and took his team home.

Shamsi’s over the top reaction

In the 13th of the Knight Riders’ chase, Tabraiz Shamsi bowled one delivery which wrapped on the pads of Javon Searles. The bowler thought he has pinned the batsman in front and appealed in joy only to get turned down by the umpire. But he didn’t stop appealing and literally started leading to being given out. In the process, Shamsi ran all the way up to the batsman and then to point but umpire in question Gregory Brathwaite was unmoved and stuck to his decision.

The bowler was furious on the umpire and let his frustration come out and gestured angrily at the umpire. Umpire cooled him down and suggested that the ball was going down leg. Replays suggested the same as the ball pitched in middle and was going away from the leg stump. After getting fined, Shamsi took to Twitter to apologise the umpire and also informed that he said sorry to him on the ground twice. He was also pleased of his team’s performance throughout the tournament and congratulated the title winners Knight Riders.

Shamsi apologises: