Tamim Iqbal to make his debut for Essex Eagles against Kent Spitfires this Sunday

The opener received his "No Objection Certificate" from the Bangladesh Cricket Board and is all set to play on Sunday

Tamim Iqbal
Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal. (Photo by Adam Davy/PA Images via Getty Images)

Natwest T20 Blast is widely regarded as one of the top T20 leagues in the world for its quality of cricket and the brand of players which are a part of it. International players from around the world come to England to take part in the league and gain valuable experience both on and off the field in the country which is home to swing and bounce, two inseparable cogs in the wheel that is pace bowling.

It is accustomed to seeing players from around the world come together to take part in T20 leagues and England is no different. The latest addition to the tournament is Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal who has been roped in by Essex Eagles in the 15 member squad against Kent Spitfires on Sunday. The opener received his “No Objection Certificate” from the Bangladesh Cricket Board and is all set to play on Sunday.


Essex went on social media website Twitter to announce the signing, “Chris Silverwood has named a 15-man squad for Sunday’s NatWest T20 Blast match against Kent County Cricket Club – Official & Tamim Iqbal is in line to make his debut.”

Apart from Tamim, the other notable players in the Essex squad include Pakistan pace sensation Mohammad Amir, Netherlands’ Ten Doeschate, Ravi Bopara, James Foster and Ashar Zaidi.

It is not surprising to see Tamim’s selection in the squad as his exploits in the recently concluded Champions Trophy was exemplary. He ended up being the third highest run-getter in the tournament with 293 runs in four innings. Hopefully, he can replicate the same performance for the Essex Eagles who are still searching for their first Natwest T20 trophy.

The 15 member squad includes Ryan ten Doeschate (Captain), James Foster, Mohammad Amir, Ravi Bopara, Varun Chopra, Matt Dixon, Simon Harmer, Tamim Iqbal, Dan Lawrence, Jamie Porter, Callum Taylor, Paul Walter, Adam Wheater, Tom Westley and Ashar Zaidi.