Tenure of MSK Prasad-headed selection panel unlikely to be extended

Tenure of MSK Prasad-headed selection panel unlikely to be extended

They also have changed the criteria for selection.

MSK Prasad of India
MSK Prasad. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Back in September 2016, former Indian wicketkeeper-batsman MSK Prasad was chosen to succeed Sandeep Patil as the chairman of India’s selection panel. He was drafted in after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) invited applications for the job for the maiden time. Previously, the world’s richest cricket board used to apply the zonal method for selections.

After serving two years, the three-member team, which also comprises Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi, led by Prasad seems unlikely to get an extension. The Supreme Court (SC) bench headed by Chief Justice Dipak Misra and justices DY Chandrachud and A M Khanwilkar, today, reverted to the old five-member selection committee for senior, junior and women’s cricket.

They will continue till the elections are held

They also have changed the criteria for selection. Earlier, only Test cricketers used to be eligible for the position. From now onwards, a minimum of either 30 first-class matches, 10 ODIs and seven ODIs will be the new criterion. The SC indicated that their tenure won’t be extended, however, they will continue till the next elections.

The SC order read, “Until the elections to the BCCI take place, the COA is empowered to consult with the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), comprising reputed former international cricketers and to constitute a committee of selectors…”.

A BCCI official also confirmed about the same. “They will continue till the elections are held. There is very little chance that this current set of selectors will get an extension once the BCCI Apex Council is formed as per the new constitution based on Lodha Reforms,” the official was quoted as saying in India Today.

While Prasad has done reasonably well, the board hasn’t quite been satisfied with the job of Singh and Gandhi. It has also been learned that Gagan Khoda will join Prasad for a limited period of time. He has been paid his salary as the erstwhile constitution doesn’t allow for a change in the selection committee unless an Annual General Meeting is held.

[interaction id=”5b6bf2e6b2f508875cfc6765″]

For more news and developments, stay tuned on CricTracker.com.