Three uncapped players in Australia's ODI squad for South Africa tour

Australia A
Chris Tremain of Australia A celebrates taking a wicket with Glenn Maxwell. (Photo by Ian Hitchcock – CA/Cricket Australia/Getty Images)

View : 57

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Australia announced the 15-man One Day International squad for the South Africa tour, which starts on September 30. Victorian pacer Chris Tremain, South Australia’s Joe Mennie and Daniel Worrall are the three new faces in the squad.

All these three pace bowlers have been impressive in the recently concluded Quadrangular A-team series in Australia, where Tremain emerged as the highest wicket-taker of the tournament with 13 wickets from 5 matches.

Australia is looking forward to keeping Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood in reserve for the Test series against South Africa and Pakistan starting later in November.

“Chris Tremain, Joe Mennie, and Daniel Worrall all had terrific summers last year and have also impressed us during the recent Australia ‘A’ series with consistent performances,” Cricket Australia’s national selector Rod Marsh said.

Also Read – The BCCI built a platform where cricketers earned large sums: AB de Villiers

He lamented that the young bowlers deserve the selection to go along with some of the experienced campaigners in the side. “They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury.”

Australian opener Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh, who has been ruled out of injury in the ongoing series against Sri Lanka has been included in the squad for South Africa tour. Ahead of the ODI series against South Africa, Australia will play one ODI match against Ireland on September 27.

AUSTRALIA’S one-day international squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, George Bailey, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Scott Boland, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa.