IPL 2023: Top 5 batters with most fours in IPL history

With 750 fours, Shikhar Dhawan is way ahead of other batters with David Warner in the second spot with 646 fours

View : 6.7K

7 Min Read

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina, who has been the mainstay in the Chennai Super Kings line-up has hit a total of 506 fours in the IPL tournament. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Indian Premier League (IPL) has earned the tag of the most popular T20 tournament in world cricket because of its high-quality standards. The league has turned out to be a launchpad for the careers of many young players. Even some of the youngsters prefer IPL over first-class cricket because of its fame and money involved and its high credentials as well. The 16th edition is set to kick off from Friday, March 31, 2023 as defending champions Gujarat Titans lock horns with four-time trophy winners Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad.

For any batter to succeed in a tournament like IPL, it is important that he is able to find boundaries at regular intervals during the innings. The openers get an extra advantage due to field restrictions in powerplay while the middle order batters have to make extra efforts in finding the gaps.

Though some players have enough power to let the ball sail over the ropes for a six, others have to use their skills to get fours and accelerate the innings. In this article, we are going to list out players who have hit the most fours in the history of the cash-rich league. Interestingly, all 5 of the players who are among the top 5 six hitters in IPL do not find a place in the fours chart.  

IPL 2022: Top 5 batters with most fours in IPL history

India’s swashbuckling opener Shikhar Dhawan is ruling the charts with a comfortable margin in terms of most fours hit in the league. Dhawan has hit 750 fours in IPL and has aggregated 6617 runs at an average of 35.38. Though with 148 sixes to his name in the tournament, he does not find his name even in the top 10 six hitters, he has compensated for it with an ample number of boundaries. He has smashed 2 centuries in the league so far, with both of them coming in IPL 2020 and that too in consecutive games.      

Dhawan’s former opening partner and current Delhi Capitals captain David Warner occupies the second spot in the list. He has 646 fours in the tournament in 176 innings and has scored 6397 runs at an average of 41.53. Warner has slammed 4 hundreds in the marquee tournament and has 226 sixes in total till now.

 Virat Kohli who holds the record for scoring the most runs in the cash-rich league is third on the list of most fours. He has hit 643 fours and 234 sixes in 229 innings and averages 37.24 in the league. His IPL numbers include 7 tons and 50 fifties with the high score being 113. 

Among the 7 centuries, 4 have come in only the 2016 season where he amassed a record 973 runs. Virat was the leading run-getter during the T20 World Cup 2022 and might end up winning the IPL orange cup 2023 given he ends up having a season like 2016.

The most succeesful skipper in the history of IPL, Rohit Sharma, who has won the title for MI five times finds himself in the fourth position in this chart. The right-handed batter has struck 554 fours and 257 maximums in 238 innings since the inaugural 2008 season. The 35-year old player has racked up 6211 runs at an average of 29.57 with one century and 42 half-centuries.

Suresh Raina, who was the mainstay in the Chennai Super Kings line-up has hit a total of 506 fours in the tournament. He has accumulated over 5528 runs in the league and is considered among the most consistent performers. The left-hander has 1 hundred and 39 half-centuries to his name and has smashed 203 sixes so far.

Most fours in IPL history

Player Innings Runs Average 100/50 Fours
Shikhar Dhawan 216 6617 35.38 2/50 750
David Warner 176 6397 41.53 4/61 646
Virat Kohli 229 7263 37.24 7/50 643
Rohit Sharma 238 6211 29.57 1/42 554
Suresh Raina 200 5528 32.51 1/39 506

*Last updated on 30th May 2023 

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store