IPL 2023: Top 5 batters with most runs in IPL history

In the IPL history so far, some batters have proved that they are cut above the rest by consistent performance over the years.

View : 18.7K

7 Min Read

RCB Virat Kohli IPL
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: BCCI)

The sixteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to get underway on March 31 (Saturday), 2023 with a clash between defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) and four time champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This league has established itself to be one of the most popular tournaments in World cricket. In the IPL history so far, some batters have proved that they are cut above the rest by consistent performance over the years. 

Top 5 Batters with Most Runs in IPL History

Former Indian skipper Virat Kohli who led the Bangalore franchise from 2013 to 2021 is ruling the charts among the highest run-getters of the league. Virat has accumulated 7263 runs in 229 innings with an average of 37.24 and strike rate being 130.02. He has struck 7 hundred and 50 half-centuries in the league so far. Among these, 4 tons came in the 2016 season where he slammed record 973 runs. By hitting a hundred against Gujarat Titans (GT) in Match 70 of IPL 2023, he surpassed Chris Gayle's tally of six centuries. Kohli has now the most tons (7) in the history of the league.

Indian ODI opener Shikhar Dhawan is second on the list of most successful batters in IPL history. He has 6617 runs to his name with an average of 35.38 and a strike rate of 127.17. He was crucial in the past two-three seasons for Delhi Capitals. Earlier, he had useful contributions while opening for Sunrisers Hyderabad along with David Warner. 

The former captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, David Warner is the top-run getter in IPL among overseas players and third-most in overall record. He went past Rohit Sharma’s tally of 5879 runs in the previous 2022 edition. He has amassed 6397 runs in 176 innings at an average of 41.53 and strike rate being 139.91.

 He has smashed 4 centuries and 61 half-centuries in the league so far. Warner didn’t enjoy a great campaign in the initial half of last IPL and was even dropped from the playing XI. He was purchased by his former franchise Delhi Capitals for INR 6.25 crores in the mega auction. Warner is known for his batting calibre and has won the IPL orange cap in three different seasons - 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Rohit Sharma, who has won 5 IPL trophies as captain has good returns as a batter as well. He has scored 6211 runs, the fourth-most in IPL history, in 238 innings played in the league at an average of 29.57 and strike rate of 130.04. This includes 1 hundred and 42 half-centuries with his highest score being 109*. He has been opening for Mumbai Indians since 2019 and is expected to take the same role this year too.

Suresh Raina who is fondly called Mr IPL has done justice to the name by performing wonderfully right from the start of the tournament. He is the fourth-highest run-getter with 5528 runs in 200 innings at an average of 32.51 and strike rate of 136.73. Despite his great record in the IPL over the years, he went unsold in the mega auction of IPL 2022. Earlier before the auction, CSK had decided not to retain the left-handed batter.

Most IPL Runs by Batters

Player Inns Runs Avg SR 100 50
Virat Kohli 229 7263 37.24 130.02 7 50
Shikhar Dhawan 216 6617 35.38 127.17 2 50
David Warner 176 6397 41.53 139.91 4 61
Rohit Sharma 238 6211 29.57 130.04 1 42
Suresh Raina 200 5528 32.51 136.73 1 39

*Last updated on 26th May 2023

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store