Top 5 players with most number of T20 titles

Top 5 players with most number of T20 titles

In 2007, the ICC planned the T20 World Cup, which brought about a revolution in world cricket.

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Back in the 1950s, there was only one format in cricket, and that was Test cricket. The players toiled on the cricket field for five or even more days before the match produced a result. A few decades later, the organizers introduced the ODI format. Both teams played 60 overs each, with the team scoring the most runs winning the contest. ODI cricket became famous worldwide because of the Cricket World Cups. 

Soon, the organizers cut down the number of overs to 50. As years passed, the organizers felt a need to introduce a shorter format to ensure that the fans do not lose interest in the game. In 2007, the ICC planned the T20 World Cup, which brought about a revolution in world cricket. T20 cricket gave birth to domestic leagues, where players from all around the world assembled under one roof to compete against each other. 

In 2020, every cricket playing nation has a T20 league of its own. While the BCCI does not allow its players to participate in foreign competitions, the other boards permit their cricketers to compete abroad.

Players like Shane Watson and AB de Villiers have quit international cricket, but they have continued to play in the domestic cricket leagues. The cricketers earn more money in relatively lesser time through these competitions, which is why every league can attract the star players. In this listicle, we will look at the top five players with the most number of T20 championship wins globally. 

Here’s the list:

5. Rohit Sharma – 9

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma
Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma kisses IPL 2017 trophy. (Photo: IANS)

Rohit Sharma, the Indian limited-overs team’s vice-captain, stands at the fifth position on this countdown. Sharma was a part of the Indian team that won the T20 World Cup in 2007. Two years later, the right-handed batsman won his maiden IPL title as a part of the Deccan Chargers squad. 

Later, Rohit Sharma shifted to the Mumbai Indians. In his 10-year stint with MI, The Hitman has won four championships. It is noteworthy that all of MI’s title triumphs have come under Rohit’s captaincy. Besides, Sharma also won the Champions League T20 tournament once with the Mumbai Indians. 

Rohit won the Asia Cup T20 in 2016 and led the Indian team to the Nidahas Trophy win in 2018. Thus, these are the nine trophies that Rohit Sharma has won as a player in T20 cricket. The Mumbai opener could soon touch the double digits if the Mumbai Indians could win IPL 2020 in the UAE.