Twitter disappointed with Gautam Gambhir for demeaning India's World Cup wins after India Hockey team wins Bronze in Tokyo

The Indian men’s hockey team ended an excruciatingly long, 41-year-old Olympic medal drought when they came on top of Germany in Tokyo.

View : 30.3K

3 Min Read

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir. (Photo Source: Instagram)

Congratulating the Indian men’s hockey team for their historic triumph at the Tokyo Olympics 2020, former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir went on to term the team’s bronze-winning effort higher than any of the Indian cricket team’s victories in the cricket World Cups of 1983, 2007 and 2011. “Forget 1983, 2007 or 2011, this medal in Hockey is bigger than any World Cup! #IndianHockeyMyPride”, read Gambhir’s tweet.

The Indian cricket team made history under the stewardship of Kapil Dev by beating West Indies in the 1983 World Cup, which remains to be arguably the biggest cricketing moment in India’s history in the sport. Notably, Gambhir was himself a part of the following World Cup triumphs in 2007 (the inaugural T20I World Cup edition) and 2011 (ICC ODI World Cup), which the nation won under the able leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Gambhir’s comparison of two different crafts did not sit down too well with many as they accused him of belittling the Indian cricket team’s hard-earned laurels.

India scripts history in Tokyo

The Indian men’s hockey team ended an excruciatingly long, 41-year-old medal drought when they came on top of Germany with a 5-4 win in a thrilling bronze medal match on Thursday (August 5). From being the team to beat in the sport at the highest level, the nation witnessed a heartbreaking decline in their hockey stocks in the last four decades, before they finally managed to turn it around this time.

For the eight-time former gold-winners, Simranjeet Singh (17th, 34th minutes) scored a brace, while Hardik Singh (27th), Harmanpreet Singh (29th) and Rupinder Pal Singh (31st) were the other scorers for India. Germany’s goals were scored by Timur Oruz (2nd), Niklas Wellen (24th), Benedikt Furk (25th) and Lukas Windfeder (48th).

Hailing the team’s brilliant efforts, the Indian cricketers loaded the team with wishes. “Congratulations to each & every member of the hockey contingent on winning the #Bronze for India! A fantastic hard fought win…The penalty corner save by Sreejesh in the dying moments of the game was amazing. Entire is immensely proud!”, wrote Sachin Tendulkar congratulating the team.

“Four decades… that is the wait India has had to win an Olympic medal in #Hockey. Just makes realise the sweetness of this victory. Our boys have done it. Should be a Watershed moment for the next gen”, former cricketer Venkatesh Prasad wrote, while Indian pacer Ishant Sharma wished the team tweeting: “What a great morning!! Superb win!! Breaking the streak after 41 years, that’s a marvellous moment!! We are proud of you, congratulations boys!!”

Meanwhile, here’s how Twitter reacted on Gambhir’s comparison:





Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store