Twitter Reactions: Adelaide Strikers register maiden BBL title win

Adelaide Strikers beat Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs to win BBL 2017-18.

Jake Lehmann and Peter Siddle of the Strikers celebrate the wicket of George Bailey |
Jake Lehmann and Peter Siddle of the Strikers celebrate the wicket of George Bailey. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

The Adelaide Oval was ready for the ultimate game of the T20 season. After a one-sided encounter in the finals of the WBBL 2017-18, the stage was set for the finals of the BBL 2017-18 season. Adelaide Strikers locked horns with the Hobart Hurricanes for the final glory. When the two sides met in the finals, one thing was for sure – a new BBL champion was set to be crowned as neither of the two sides had a BBL title to their name.

Coming to the game, the match lived up to all the expectations. It was a high scoring affair on cards as the two sides competed fiercely for the title. The first innings was all about Jake Weatherald’s ton that propelled the Adelaide Strikers total over the 200-run mark.


In the run chase, all eyes were on D’Arcy Short, who had been the Player of the Season for the Hobart Hurricanes. Short did deliver, but only for a short while. In the end, it was the Adelaide Strikers who registered their maiden BBL title win. Earlier in the game, Strikers’ skipper Travis Head won the toss and had opted to bat first. The home advantage, if any, was with the Strikers.

After losing Alex Carey cheaply in the innings, Jake Weatherald took the proceedings in his own hands. He smashed his maiden T20 ton. Also, this became the first ever ton in the finals of the BBL history. Weatherald’s onslaught, combined with handy cameos from Travis Head and Colin Ingram helped the Strikers post 202/2 in their stipulated 20 overs.

In the run chase, a similar story beckoned for the Hobart Hurricanes. Much like the Strikers, Hurricanes also lost their opener Tim Paine cheaply. D’Arcy Short led the counter attack with a brisk 68 off just 44 deliveries with two fours and as many number of sixes. Also, George Bailey contributed with a handy 46 off 33 balls. But once these two were dismissed, the Hurricanes innings crashed like ten pins.

In the end, the Hurricanes could only score 177 runs in their 20 overs. Adelaide Strikers won the match by 25 runs and registered their maiden BBL win.

Here is how the Twitterati reacted to the Adelaide Strikers title win:

For the latest cricket news, follow CricTracker.