Twitter Reactions: Chris Gaffaney fails to spot a Mitchell Starc no-ball which might’ve saved Chris Gayle
It might turn out to be a massive moment in the game.
Published - Jun 6, 2019 8:49 pm | Updated - Jun 6, 2019 8:49 pm
Australia and Windies are currently fighting it out at the Trent Bridge in the ongoing World Cup. The match is interestingly poised with the Caribbean side two down early in the chase. Defending the total of 288 runs, Pat Cummins sent back Evin Lewis early for just 1 run after which Shai Hope came out to bat at three. A lot of action followed which saw Chris Gayle eventually getting out to Mitchell Starc after the pacer pinned him in front of the stumps.
Rather, the luck was with the Universal Boss on the day. First, he was adjudged caught behind by the umpire Chris Gaffaney which he reviewed and got the decision overturned. Then, the southpaw was also rapped on the pads in front of the stumps but the Hawkeye suggested the ball to be going down.
Riding on his luck, Gayle took the attack to Pat Cummins in the next over and raced away to 21. However, Starc got the better of him in the fifth over of the innings. This time again the batsman reviewed and to his dismay, the Hawkeye suggested the ball to be brushing the stumps. The umpire’s call stayed and Chris Gayle had to depart who walked back shaking his head in disappointment.
The no-ball which was not spotted
While the action moved forward, the broadcaster later found out that Mitchell Starc had bowled a no-ball, exactly a ball before he got Chris Gayle out. The replays were showed then and the left-arm seamer had landed his front foot long way away from the crease. It was literally shocking as to how the on-field umpire, Chris Gaffaney missed it.
Moreover, had the no-ball been called, the next ball would’ve been a free hit on which Chris Gayle eventually got out. This might turn out to be a massive moment in the match now as the Windies opener was looking extremely dangerous and was willing to spend time on the crease. As soon as the replays came in, Twitterati lashed out at the umpire Gaffaney for a huge miss.
Here’s how Twitter reacted:
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) June 6, 2019
— Kashif Qureshi (@kasqures) June 6, 2019
How has Chris Gaffney missed that no ball before giving out @henrygayle the next ball? Supposed to be an international umpire! About time the 3rd umpires called the no balls. Let the umpires concentrate on the business end
— M E Elsdon (@mattelsdon79) June 6, 2019
@ICC @cricketworldcup umpiring at it's worst.All decisions are going wrong. Ball before @henrygayle dismissal was a no ball, but not given, it was supposed to be a free hit on which he got dismissed. #AUSvWI #chrisgayle #WorldCup2019 #WC19 pic.twitter.com/69ZIA7UFTk
— Subash Rajan (@SubashRajan12) June 6, 2019
Now wait for @ICC to come defending/justifying/licking umpire Chris Gaffaney and all his errors wrt @henrygayle wicket, & of course prosecuting any Truthseeking protester. Again lucky @CricketAus #CWC19 #AUSvsWI #WIvsAus #Pathetic @windiescricket
— Pronay Basak (@pronaybasak) June 6, 2019
— SuperSinghz (@shizzle_mynizzl) June 6, 2019
So Chris Gayle was the first to get out on free hit ! @ICC are u watching this or not ?
Shame Shame Shame @cricketworldcup ….. 👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎hu#CWC19 #AUSvWI pic.twitter.com/FmjGhyNrU8
— Muhammad Saleem (@SkSaleem320) June 6, 2019
#AskTheExpert @StarSportsIndia @jatinsapru @STARCricketIN @ICC @cricbuzz #AUSvWI it is injustice with @henrygayle .If WI loose the match,they loose because of umpires.What is the role of 3rd umpire into this? Is he sleeping?There was big no ball . Gavaskar ji- your thoughts pl pic.twitter.com/A6uYQVc7H2
— Raman Kr. Sharma 🇮🇳 (@vvipraman) June 6, 2019
— Ajay Sangale (@AjaySangale20) June 6, 2019
Chris Gaffaney is the same umpire who once raised his finger to give #cheteshwarpujara out and ended up with scratching his head in an IndiaVs.Aus test match. Today, he upsets #chrisgayle . Pathetic umpiring at this level. #CWC19 #WIvsAUS #CricketWorldCup2019 pic.twitter.com/cG7wdSUjLT
— me.sanbha (@sanjay_bhati) June 6, 2019
— Ravi Vyas (@ravivyas9035) June 6, 2019
How on earth did umpire Chris Gaffney could miss calling this a no-ball, #MitchellStarc is past crease by almost 4 inches. Rightly @henrygayle got out on a free hit ball. Poor standards of umpiring. #AUSvWI #WorldCup2019 #Gayle pic.twitter.com/IrmZbsAxkk
— Pradeep kumar™ (@Pradeep_kumar27) June 6, 2019
— Kunal Yadav (@iam_kunalyadav) June 6, 2019
Omg….! Why this umpire be so careless..
It's a noball before the wicket of Chris Gayle. Technically it should be a freehit.He was so unlucky today given out multiple times poor umpiring.Arnold and VB sir what you think of it. #staraikelungal #staraikelugal pic.twitter.com/vJbwM0OqRU
— anandha Kumar (@adayar333) June 6, 2019
— Binod (@CapBinod) June 6, 2019