Twitter Reactions: Lyca Kovai Kings crush Nellai Royal Kings by 104 runs to clinch second TNPL title

Lyca Kovai Kings won the TNPL 2023 by beating Nellai Royal Kings by 104 runs in the final.

View : 165

3 Min Read

Lyca Kovai Kings
Lyca Kovai Kings. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The much-awaited final of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023 got underway on Wednesday, July 12 at Indian Cement Company Ground, Tirunelveli. Lyca Kovai Kings and Nellai Royal Kings were up against each other in the mega clash to be crowned champions of the seventh edition of the tournament. Lyca’s captain Shahrukh Khan won the toss and decided to put runs on the board in the all-important game.

Lyca didn’t get off to the best of the starts as they lost their opener S Sujay for 7(7) in the second over itself. B Sachin walked in at number three but could only score 12 (10) before losing his wicket against Sandeep Warrier. With the score on 31/2 after 3.5 overs, U Mukilesh walked to the crease and got involved in a crucial 71-run stand off 48 balls for the third wicket with Suresh Kumar (57 off 33).

Their partnership got broken by Warrier who claimed his second wicket of the match. At the other end, Mukilesh (51* off 40) continued his brilliant knock and got good support from Atheeq Ur Rahman (50 off 21) with the duo adding 74 runs off just 35 balls. A brilliant cameo by Ram Arvindh (10* off 4) took Lyca to 205/5 in their allotted 20 overs. Sandeep Warrier was the pick of the bowlers for Nellai who picked up 2/39 in four overs.

Nellai got off to a forgettable start as well with opener Sri Neranjan getting dismissed for a three-ball duck in the first over. To make matters worse for them, they further lost Guruswamy Ajitesh (1 off 2) in the second over. After two early blows, captain Arun Karthik decided to take the opposition on to bring them under pressure.

Nellai Royal Kings bundled out for 101

However, his brief cameo (27 off 14) was ended by Shahrukh Khan in the fifth over. Following his dismissal, the entire batting lineup of Nellai suffered a collapse and were left staring down the barrel at 64/7 after 9.2 overs. M Poiyamozhi (19 off 7) tried his best but couldn't save his team from a humiliating loss. Nellai were bundled out for 101 handing Lyca a massive win by 104 runs. As a result, they clinched their second consecutive TNPL title after being the joint-winners in the 2022 edition. Jhatavedh Subramanyan was awarded Player of the Match for his sensational spell of 4/21 in four overs while Shahrukh Khan also picked up 3/16 in his four-over spell.

Meanwhile, Twitter was abuzz with reactions on Lyca's emphatic victory. 

Here are some of the Tweets:


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store