Twitter Reactions: Rohit Sharma's unbeaten 46 helps India chase down 91 in an 8-over shoot-out in Nagpur vs Australia

Bumrah also made a brilliant comeback with Axar Patel continuing to prove his mettle with the ball.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)
Karthik Nair

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 877

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

India registered a six-wicket victory in the second T20I at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground in Nagpur on Friday, September 23 and by virtue of this win the three-match series is now tied at 1-1. The match was forced to be delayed due to a wet outfield and it was eventually reduced to an eight overs per side contest. 

Despite losing the toss, the Australians showed a great intent while batting and it was Matthew Wade yet again who gave a tough time to the Indian bowlers, especially medium-pacer Harshal Patel who was hit for three sixes in the final over as the visitors finished on a high.

Skipper Rohit Sharma powers India to a series-leveling win 

Australia lost the key wickets of Cameron Green for five and power-hitter Glenn Maxwell for a golden duck before skipper Aaron Finch  took charge of the batting. He went after the bowlers with a fearless intent and looked set for a big score before Jasprit Bumrah's deadly yorker dismissed him for a 15-ball 31. 

While wickets kept tumbling from one end, middle-order sensation Matthew Wade counter-attacked from the other end and single-handedly took the Aussies to a mammoth total. He remained unbeaten on a quickfire 43 runs 20 deliveries as the visitors posted 90/5 from their eight overs. For India, left-arm spinner Axar Patel was the pick of the bowlers with 2/13. 

In reply, skipper Rohit Sharma went on the attack right from the word 'go' and put the opposition bowlers under pressure early on. He got good support in vice-captain KL Rahul who also scored runs off the loose balls. The duo added a 39-run opening stand before the latter was castled by leggie Adam Zampa.

Rohit and Virat Kohli then looked to get India past the line before Zampa struck yet again in the fifth over dismissing the latter and Suryakumar Yadav off successive deliveries. Sharma and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya then took care of the Indian run chase from thereon before Cummins accounted for Pandya in the penultimate over. Rohit hit the pace sensation for a four and a wide ball worked in India's favor as well.

Dinesh Karthik completed the formalities in the final over bowled by Daniel Sams with a six and a four as India got past the finish line. Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten on 46 runs off 20 deliveries.

Here's how Twitter reacted to the Men in Blue's well-deserved win: