Twitter Reactions: Lahore Qalandars dethrone Multan Sultans to win PSL 2022

Twitter Reactions: Lahore Qalandars dethrone Multan Sultans to win PSL 2022

Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by 42 runs to win PSL 2022.

Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shaheen Shah Afridi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Lahore Qalandars beat in-form Multan Sultans in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 final by 42 runs on February 27 to lift their maiden title. The Qalandars got second time lucky in the summit clash after having suffered a five-wicket loss to Karachi Kings in the 2020 edition. The Sultans who were the team of the tournament having lost just one of their nine league matches ran out of fire and brimstone in the decider as they failed to retain their title.

After having posted a stiff total in the PSL 2022 final, the Multan Sultans expected the in-form duo of skipper Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood to come out and fire all cylinders and even though both of them got starts, they were unsuccessful in converting them into impactful knocks and once the two were dismissed, it opened up the floodgates for Lahore.

Lahore Qalandars bowlers work in tandem to derail Multan Sultans’ run chase

Earlier, the Lahore Qalandars skipper Shaheen Afridi won a crucial toss and decided to bat first at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The decision seemed to have backfired as they lost three quick wickets and were reduced to 25/3 in the fifth over. However, veteran all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez carried out the rescue act by scoring 69 runs off 46 deliveries and important knocks from Harry Brook and David Wiese towards the backend of the innings propelled the Qalandars to 180/5 from their 20 overs. Brook remained unbeaten on 41 runs off 22 balls while Wiese was not out on 28 runs off only eight deliveries.

In reply, captain Rizwan and Shan Masood kept the title-holders in the hunt with a 36-run opening stand. Nonetheless, both were dismissed in quick succession just before the completion of the Powerplay overs. Masood’s run out was the turning point of the contest as the Sultans never recovered thereafter and kept losing wickets at regular intervals with the asking rate getting steeper.

Tim David (27) and Khushdil Shah (32) tried to do the unthinkable with a 51-run stand for the sixth wickets but, the Lahore bowlers staged a remarkable comeback to bundle out Multan Sultans for 138 with three balls to spare. Skipper Shaheen Afridi was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/30 from his four overs at an economy of 7.5.

Here’s how Twitter reacted after Lahore Qalandars won their maiden PSL title