Twitterati left perplexed over Anuja Patil’s dismissal in the Asia Cup Final
She was controversially given out obstructing the field.
Updated - Jun 10, 2018 6:27 pm
Bangladesh Women stunningly defeated the title favourites India Women in the final of the Asia Cup in Malaysia on Sunday. The game went down the wire as the underdogs keeping their nerves to clinch their maiden title off the last ball. But more than their historic victory the dismissal of Anuja Patil was discussed who was given out ‘obstructing the field’. However, Twitterati was left baffled over the decision of the umpire and once again the rules of the International Cricket Council (ICC) came under the scanner.
Team India was invited to bat first on a slow pitch as they got off to the worst possible starts with Smriti Mandhana getting run-out needlessly. The spinners of Bangladesh managed to keep the lid on the run-scoring in the powerplay overs which built the pressure on the batters. Ir resulted in more wickets falling and the likes of Mithali Raj and Deepti Sharma were also sent packing courtesy of some poor shots.
The onus was now on Anuja Patil and the skipper Harmanpreet Kaur to resurrect the innings. But there was a mix-up between the duo in the ninth over as the former ran blindly without hearing the call of her partner. But while returning to her crease, she changed her direction and came in the way of the throw. Anuja also took a blow to her body and returned home safely. But the opposition appealed to the umpires and complained that she had obstructed the field.
After several replays, the third umpire ruled Anuja out which left many confused and fuming. She hadn’t changed her course of running deliberately and moreover, the soft signal from the on-field umpires was not-out. Twitterati was not at all impressed with the decision and was left confused over the rules once again.
Few of the fans also believed that nobody spoke anything over the matter as it was the Women’s game and there would’ve been a huge controversy had the same incident taken place during the Men’s game. The wicket impacted India’s run-scoring as well and they could post a total of 112 runs only because of Harman which was not enough in the end.
Watch the video here:
That was given Out Obstructing the Field … pic.twitter.com/9DsJaiQGDB
— Taimoor Zaman (@taimoorze) June 10, 2018
You can also watch the dismissal here (from 03:25)
Here’s how Twitter reacted to the dismissal:
— Barun Kumar (@Barunnitb) June 10, 2018
Anuja first obstructing the field then this , everything gng bangla way
— tanisha (@54Tanisha) June 10, 2018
How the Fuck on this earth that Anjuja patul runout can be considered as obstructing the field 😱🙏 #INDWvsBANW
— చందుగాడు (@Chandann9999) June 10, 2018
Anuja changes her course while running back to the non-striker's end
On-field ump's soft signal is not out
3rd ump overturns the decision
Would the throw have hit the stumps: Maybe not
Was Anuja's change of track deliberate: Yes
Decision: Out obstructing the field#banvind
— Annesha Ghosh (@ghosh_annesha) June 10, 2018
Someone explain “obstructing the field” #cricket
— McAwesomeness (@tweettabulous) June 10, 2018
— SAHIL SABHARWAL 🇮🇳 (@sahil_sabharwa) June 10, 2018
— Abhishek Mukherjee (@ovshake42) June 10, 2018
How can an on field umpire give soft signal for obstructing the field?.. That was clearly out. Anuja deliberately came in the direction of the ball. ICC must take a call on these soft signals ASAP
— Sreenath Sreekumar (@cheta_sree) June 10, 2018
— Zeeshan (@zshamsi34) June 10, 2018
#NowWatching Asia Cup Women’s Final between India & Bangladesh. Anuja Patil was just given out obstructing the field by the third umpire and I thought it was an atrocious decision. She didn’t change her course while running and was well within her right to take the blow @ICC
— ST (@coldnemesis) June 10, 2018
— Roushan 🇮🇳 (@roushan93) June 10, 2018
Anuja Patil has been declared out obstructing the field in the Asia Cup 2018 final
— Sarang Bhalerao (@bhaleraosarang) June 10, 2018
Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates