Usman Khawaja to lead Australia A in South Africa, Maxwell named deputy

Middle-order batsman Travis Head will be taking the captaincy duties in the limited overs tri series.

Usman Khawaja of Australia
Usman Khawaja of Australia (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Australian batsman Usman Khawaja has been named as the captain of the Australia A side that will tour South Africa for 4-day fixtures. The tour will comprise of two four-day games and will be followed by a one-day tri-series that involves India A as the third team. Middle-order batsman Travis Head will be taking the captaincy duties in the limited overs tri series.

However, all of this might only end up being paperwork since the tour might not get underway due to the pay scuffle between Australian cricketers and the Cricket Australia. The players have already been threatening to boycott tours if the payment issues are not settled. In case the tour gets underway eventually, it will be a handy opportunity for Usman Khawaja to reinstate his claim in the national side Test team.


He did not get a game during the recent Australia’s tour to India. Khawaja will have the services of all-rounder Glenn Maxwell as the vice-captain of the team. Among other notable mentions in the lineup, the big names are Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Scott Boland, Hilton Cartwright across the two formats.

The Australian team selection panel noted that this is a good opportunity for youngsters to play in overseas conditions and they have picked the best team possible. The tour is expected to be played in the month of July.

“We have opted for a well-balanced squad featuring some experience blended with younger players, with an emphasis on building our depth for the future. This is a great chance for these players to experience foreign conditions against quality international sides and really test their skills,” Trevor Hohns quoted.

“Travis is a capable young leader and he will benefit from the opportunity at this level. There were some senior players that missed out on an opportunity this time round but this will certainly not detract from their chances of representing Australia in the future,” he added further.

Complete Squads

Australia A Squad for four-day fixtures:

Usman Khawaja (c), Glenn Maxwell (vc), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Jackson Bird, Alex Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth

Australia A Squad for one-day fixtures:

Travis Head (c), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Hilton Cartwright, Sam Heazlett, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth