Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018/19: Round 9 - Review

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018/19: Round 9 – Review

Veteran Yuvraj Singh got some important runs to his name and is pretty much hunting for a place in the World Cup squad. 

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Some interesting cricketing action took place in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday as only two teams remained unbeaten thus far after Andhra’s defeat to Delhi. Veteran Yuvraj Singh got some important runs to his name and is pretty much hunting for a place in the World Cup squad.

Batting first against Railways, Punjab scored an above par total of 284 runs, banking on Gurkeerat Mann’s century and Yuvraj Singh’s 96. Saurabh Wakaskar scored a century for Railways in the run chase, but they could only manage 210 runs, falling 58 runs short of the revised target 269.

Andhra were one of three unbeaten teams before the start of today’s games, but they are no longer in the perfect list. Himmat Singh’s century propelled Delhi to a score in excess of 300 batting first. None of the Andhra batters could register a big knock and a collective brilliant effort from Delhi’s bowlers saw them win the game by 73 runs.

Vidarbha wins the Maharashtra derby

A pulsating Maharashtra derby between Vidarbha and Maharashtra went in favor of the current Ranji Champions, but only by a slender margin. Chasing a 206-run target, Vidarbha were down and out at 123/7. But a fantastic 83-run stand between Akshay Wadkar and Darshan Nalkande saw them clinch a thrilling victory with four balls remaining.

A brilliant win for Hyderabad in their group B game against Kerala now puts them second on the table. A fantastic effort from their bowlers restricted Kerala to 189 runs in their first innings. Rohit Rayudu registered a fifty and stitched a 106-run partnership for the 4th wicket to seal things easily for his side.

Mumbai once again stamped their authority with a thumping win and this time, it’s Goa at the receiving end. Goa got bowled out for 186 runs batting first, which never really was going to be enough. Akhil Herwadkar scored a century to help his team complete a win inside 36 overs.

Brief Scores

Punjab vs Railways, Elite Group A

Punjab: 284/6 in 50 overs (Gurkeerat Mann 101, Yuvraj Singh 96)

Railways: 210 all out in 44.3 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 104; Mayank Markande 3/40)

Result: Punjab won by 58 runs (VJD method)

Vidarbha vs Maharashtra, Elite Group A

Maharashtra: 205/8 in 50 overs (Ankeet Bawne 62)

Vidarbha: 206/7 in 49.2 overs (Akshay Wadkar 82*, Darshan Nalkande 53*)

Result: Vidarbha won by three wickets

Goa vs Mumbai, Elite Group A

Goa: 186 all out in 49.5 overs (Dhawal Kulkarni 3/32)

Mumbai: 189/3 in 35.3 overs (Akhil Herwadkar 108*)

Result: Mumbai won by seven wickets

Chattisgarh vs Odisha, Elite Group B

Chattisgarh: 212 all out in 49.5 overs (Anurag Sarangi 3/26)

Odisha: 164 all out in 41 overs (Pankaj Kumar Rao 3/15, Shivendra Singh 3/31)

Result: Chattisgarh won by 48 runs

Delhi vs Andhra, Elite Group B

Delhi: 314/6 in 50 overs (Himmat Singh 102, Unmukt Chand 62)

Andhra: 241 all out in 49.5 overs (Prashant Kumar 54; Nitish Rana 2/9)

Result: Delhi won by 73 runs

Hyderabad vs Kerala, Elite Group B

Kerala: 189/6 in 50 overs (Vasudevan Arundhadi Jagadeesh 62)

Hyderabad: 190/3 in 46/4 overs (Rohit Rayudu 57*)

Result: Hyderabad won by seven wickets

Arunachal Pradesh vs Nagaland, Plate

Arunachal Pradesh: 271/4 in 50 overs (Kshitiz Sharma 109, Akhilesh Sahani 102*)

Nagaland: 272/4 in 44 overs (KB Pawan 112, Hokaito Zhimomi 72*)

Result: Nagaland won by six wickets

Uttarakhand vs Mizoram, Plate

Uttarakhand: 321 all out in 50 overs (Karanveer 118; Taruwar Kohli 6/65)

Mizoram: 169 all out in 48.4 overs (Abdul Khadir 73*; Vaibav Bhatt 3/38)

Result: Uttarakhand won 152 runs

Sikkim vs Puducherry, Plate

Sikkim: 89 all out in 43.2 overs (Fabid Ahmed 3/8, Narayanan 3/21)

Puducherry: 92/1 in 15.2 overs (D Rohit 38)

Result: Puducherry won by nine wickets

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates.