Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 : Round 9 - Review

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 : Round 9 – Review

Bihar registered a 292-run win in their Plate game, which happens to be the biggest win in the history of the tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Some big and dominating wins were registered in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Sunday as the group stage of the tournament is inching closer to a culmination. Whilst Bihar registered the biggest win in terms of runs in the tournament’s history, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, and Baroda registered convincing wins in their respective games.

MD Rahmat Ullah scored 156 off 103 balls which was backed up well by Babul Kumar’s 92 as Bihar piled up a massive 338 runs batting first against Sikkim. Skipper Keshav Kumar and Anunay Singh picked up three wickets each with the ball for Bihar as they rattled Sikkim for 46 runs, registering a gobsmacking 292-run win.

Bengal’s batting lineup stuttered a bit against Tamil Nadu batting first, which didn’t help them score anything competitive. Abhimanyu Easwaran’s 72 and Manoj Tiwary’s 47 got them to 239 runs, which didn’t seem enough for the South Indian side. Openers Abhinav Mukund and N Jagadeesan registered big fifties and helped their side finished the game in 42 overs by 6 wickets.

Karnataka outclasses Ranji champions with ease

The clash between Karnataka and Vidarbha was mouth-watering on paper, but not so in reality. Vidarbha got bowled out for a paltry 125 runs batting first with Shreyas Gopal and Krishnappa Gowtham doing the damage. The target was never too big to taunt this incredible South Indian side and they eventually chased it in 32.3 overs.

Skipper Prashant Chopra fought a lone battle with the bat as he helped Himachal Pradesh score 269 runs batting first against Mumbai. The greatest side in Indian domestic history had no trouble chasing the total down as skipper Suryakumar Yadav smashed a breathtaking century and won the game for his side with 33 balls to spare.

With Krunal Pandya, Deepak Hooda and Aditya Waghmode registering half-centuries, Baroda notched a fairly competitive 269 runs on the board against Railways. Babashafi Pathan scalped a five-fer in the second innings as Railways got bundled out for 89 runs, handing Deepak Hooda’s side a 180-run win.

Here are the scores and updates from all the games that happened on Sunday.

Brief Scores

Baroda vs Railways, Group A

Baroda: 269/9 in 50 overs (Aditya Waghmode 74), Deepak Hooda 62, Krunal Pandya 54)

Railways: 89 all out in 24.4 overs (Babashafi Pathan 5/25)

Karnataka vs Vidarbha, Elite Group A

Vidarbha: 125 all out in 36.2 overs (Krishnappa Gowtham 3/34, Shreyas Iyer 3/13)

Karnataka: 129/4 in 32.3 overs

Mumbai vs Himachal Pradesh, Elite Group A

Himachal Pradesh: 269/6 in 50 overs (Prashant Chopra 86, Rishi Dhawan 53*)

Mumbai: 270/4 in 44.3 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 123*)

Hyderabad vs Chhattishgarh, Elite Group B

Hyderabad: 222/9 in 50 overs (Rohit Rayudu 75; Pankaj Kumar Rao 3/41)

Chhattisgarh: 121 all out in 33.3 overs (Mehedi Hasan 3/19)

Andhra vs Saurashtra, Elite Group B

Saurashtra: 214/7 in 50 overs (Aarpit Vasavada 55)

Andhra: 215/4 in 48.3 overs (Prashant Kumar 71)

Uttar Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh, Elite Group B

Madhya Pradesh: 277/5 in 50 overs (Venkatesh Iyer 83, Yash Dubey 66)

Uttar Pradesh: 280/5 in 49.3 overs (Samarth Singh 71, Akshdeep Nath 51, Priyam Garg 50)

Haryana vs Tripura, Elite Group C

Tripura: 171 all out in 45 overs (Bravish Shetty 60; Rahul Tewatia 3/25)

Haryana: 175/7 in 41.2 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 55)

Tamil Nadu vs Bengal, Elite Group C

Bengal: 239 all out in 49.4 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 72; Vijay Shankar 4/34)

Tamil Nadu: 240/4 in 42 overs (Abhinav Mukund 94, N Jagadeesan 55)

Gujarat vs Jammu & Kashmir, Elite Group C

J&K: 122 all out in 34 overs (Piyush Chawla 3/29)

Gujarat: 127/2 in 29.2 overs (Priyank Panchal 49)

Bihar vs Sikkim, Plate

Bihar: 338/6 in 50 overs (MD Rahmat Ullah 156, Babul Kumar 92)

Sikkim: 46 all out in 31 overs (Anunay Singh 3/12, Keshav Kumar 3/7)

Manipur vs Nagaland, Plate

Manipur: 144 all out in 43.3 overs (Hokaito Zhimomi 2/15)

Nagaland: 147/1 in 34.2 overs (Sedezhalie Rupero 52)

Meghalaya vs Uttarakhand, Plate

Meghalaya: 141 all out in 41.2 overs (Vaibhav Bhatt 3/9)

Uttarakhand: 143/2 in 31 overs (Vineet Saxena 66*)

For more news and developments, stay tuned on