Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu – Statistical Preview

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20: Final, Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu – Statistical Preview

All the key stats and numbers ahead of Vijay Hazare Trophy final between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu
Tamil Nadu. (Photo by Vishal Bhatnagar/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 will conclude on Friday when Karnataka will host Tamil Nadu in the final at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. Tamil Nadu won all the nine matches they played in the Elite Group C and extended their winning streak to 10 by defeating Gujarat in the semi-finals. Karnataka, on the other hand, lost only to Hyderabad in the Group stage where they finished as table-toppers. They registered comfortable wins in the quarters and semis to join the Southern Derby in the big final.

All the key stats and numbers ahead of Vijay Hazare Trophy final between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu:

0 – Number of times Karnataka and Tamil Nadu faced off in a knockout match in List A cricket. The two teams clashed on 21 instances in One-Day matches but all have them when they were placed in South Zone of a tournament.

Karnataka won 12 of the 21 games while Tamil Nadu won nine matches. The final on Friday will be the first meeting in List A cricket between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu since November 2014.

3-3 – Neither of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu has lost a final in any Inter-state One-Day competition. Both the teams won all the three Vijay Hazare trophy finals they featured. Tamil Nadu played two Ranji Trophy One-Day finals winning in one of them while another game ending in a Tie.

7-2 – Tamil Nadu’s win-loss record in List A cricket at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. They have won each of their last five List A matches at this venue. Tamil Nadu has a superior record in this format against Karnataka at this venue has won four out of five games. Their only loss against the home team here came in 2002/03 season by 29 runs.

31.66 – The bowling strike rate of Krishnappa Gowtham in List A cricket for Karnataka. The off-spinner has taken 53 wickets from 32 List A matches for his domestic team at an average of 24.26 with four 4-fers and two 5-wicket hauls.

58.71 – Manish Pandey is averaging 58.71 in the List A format against Karnataka. He scored 411 runs against them in nine List A innings with two fifties and two centuries; the joint-most tons he has scored against any side in this format.

67.83 – The Tamil Nadu skipper Dinesh Karthik also has a good average against Karnataka as he scored 407 runs from 7 innings at an average of 67.83 with a century and three fifties.

598Devdutt Padikkal is the leading run-getter in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy with 598 runs; the 3rd most runs by any player in a single edition of Vijay Hazare. Mayank Agarwal amassed 723 from only 8 innings during the 2017/18 season while Dinesh Karthik scored 607 runs in the 2016/17 edition.

KL Rahul (546), Baba Aparajith (532), Manish Pandey (525) and Abhinav Mukund (515) are four other players with 500+ runs in this tournament who are part of the final.

988 – Runs Mayank Agarwal has scored from his last 14 innings in Vijay Hazare Trophy. He averaged 76 in those 14 innings and has struck five tons and four fifties. However, in Chinnaswamy, Mayank averages a lowly 34 in List A cricket as he scored 449 from 14 innings with three fifties.

1075 – Abhinav Mukund now has scored over 1000 runs across the last two editions of Vijay Hazare Trophy. Across 20 innings in this competition, Mukund amassed 1075 runs at an average of 56.57 with help of two centuries and seven fifties.

1261Dinesh Karthik is averaging 78.81 in the List A matches for Tamil Nadu since the start of 2017. In this period, Karthik has aggregated 1261 runs from 20 List A innings with three tons and nine half-centuries.