Virat Kohli boasts highest win percentage among all captains, surpasses Lloyd, Ponting

Kohli adds yet another feather into his cap.

Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli India v Australia
Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

View : 4.1K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Though India’s captain Virat Kohli did not embark his journey in the Australian series as anticipated, the knock from MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya ensured that the newly appointed all-format captain has a record to boast for. Virat surpassed the likes of Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting in terms of win percentage for all captains who have led their sides in more than 35 games.

With the win in the Chennai ODI, Kohli has led the side to victory in 28 out of the 36 matches, while facing defeat in seven of them and one being a no-result game. Which means, he now has a win percentage of 77.77, excluding the no result game.

The greatest captains the game of cricket has ever seen, i.e., the likes of Ricky Ponting and Clive Lloyd, fell short of the recent feat by the golden boy of Indian cricket. Lloyd has a win percentage of 76.19 whereas the next best to the West Indian is Ricky Ponting with 71.73 percent. (courtesy: IB Times)

Numbers from Kohli expected to go down in future

Clive Lloyd has led the side in 84 ODIs between the golden period of West Indies Cricket- 1975 to 1985 when his team won 64 and lost 18 encounters with one tie and one no result. Ponting, on the other hand, took his team to 165 victories in 230 matches and lost 51 with two no results and two tied contests.

One should also take into account, that Virat Kohli hasn’t played that many games as a captain compared to Clive Lloyd and Ponting, which means, these numbers are expected to go down and Kohli won’t carry this feat for long.

The other heartening factor is that the likes of Lloyd and Ponting have led a world-beating side towards total domination for a number years. By the looks of it, Kohli has successfully embarked on a journey parallel to the ones by the West Indian and the Australian world-beating captains.