Virat Kohli not pleased with Lungi Ngidi’s celebration

Replays suggested that Ngidi’s intention wasn’t to send off any particular player but just a normal celebration

Virat Kohli |
Virat Kohli leaves the field. (Photo Source: Twitter)

While Virat Kohli was stupendous in the first innings, he failed to recreate his magic in the second innings. The Indian skipper got out for just five runs as he was adjudged LBW owing to a brilliant Ngidi delivery. Kohli tried to review the decision but even the technology couldn’t save him.

As he walked back, so did India’s chances of steering to a victory. However, the skipper wasn’t entertained as he was returning back. A pumped-up Lungi Ngidi tried to punch in the air in retaliation of Kohli’s wicket. Kohli who was on his way stopped for a while with an angry look before mumbling some words.


Replays suggested that Ngidi’s intention wasn’t to send off any particular player but a normal celebration. The 21-year-old was in tremendous form as he got two big wickets to almost seal the deal for South Africa. His bowling was largely appreciated by the commentators as well as the experts.

Kohli fined 25 percent match fee

Quite recently, the Indian skipper was fined for showing dissent to an umpire. Kohli wasn’t pleased with the ball getting wet due to the damp outfield the other day. However, when the umpires didn’t state otherwise, he got angry and threw the ball in an aggressive manner. This was enough to get him penalised.

“India captain Virat Kohli has been fined 25 percent of his match fee and received one demerit point for breaching Level 1 of the ICC Code of Conduct during the third day’s play in the second Test against South Africa at Centurion on Monday,” ICC said in a statement.

Kohli was found to have breached Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.”

Since Kohli accepted the sanction, no formal hearing was needed. The charge was initially levelled by on-field umpires Gough and Paul Reiffel, third umpire Richard Kettleborough and fourth umpire Allahudien Palekar.

Follow CricTracker for more latest updates and today’s cricket news!