Waqar Younis names his modern day ODI World 12

Waqar Younis
Waqar Younis. (Photo credit by ARIF ALI/AFP/Getty Images)

Pakistan bowling legend Waqar Younis today named 12 players who constitute his modern day One-Day International World 12. He has trusted two explosive batsmen to open the batting. Waqar would want to see Australian opener David Warner and India’s Rohit Sharma take on the bowlers up front and give his team a dashing start.

After a quick-fire start, there is Indian batting mainstay Virat Kohli to stabilize and channelize things at No. 3. Virat is undoubtedly one of the most consistent batsmen in ODI cricket but at the same time has this supreme ability to run away with the game. He has over the years matured into the roles, reads the match situation extremely well and paces his knock as per the assessment.


Following Kohli at No. 4 is Mr. 360, AB de Villiers. The South African skipper is unstoppable and probably also an undefinable player. His class, his shots, his temperament stand out and his value and importance in a team has no parallels. Australian captain Steve Smith takes the No. 5 slot and is also entrusted with the captaincy. Smith hasn’t just grown as a batsman but has earned immense respect for the way he is leading the Australian team in ODIs as well as Tests.

Then there is the vibrant Jos Buttler. He will probably also take the gloves. This season has belonged to Buttler and his aggressive, attacking style of play. He is a safe man behind the wickets and has emerged as a successful finisher for England in the ongoing season.

Also read – BCCI not pleased with the $135 m budget allotted for the CT 2017

Waqar has picked England all-rounder Moeen Ali in his squad and would expect him to fulfill that responsibility with no other batsman in the top 6 being a reliable part-timer of course except Smith. Ali is also the lone spinner in the team.

The bowling department has Australian speedster Mitchell Starc, Pakistani pacer Mohammad Amir and Bangladesh sensation Mustafizur Rahman. He was possibly in a dilemma on how to leave out New Zealand opener Martin Guptill who has been in fine form and thus has named him the 12th man.

Waqar Younis’ ODI World 12:

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith (C), Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Mitchell Starc, Mohammad Amir, Mustafizur Rahman and Martin Guptill.

Also read – Piers Morgan replies to Sehwag’s Tweet on denying talking about him on News Hour