WBBL 2021: All 59 matches to be broadcasted on TV for the first time

The seventh edition of WBBL will begin on October 14.

Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes of WBBL. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

View : 371

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on :

Cricket Australia (CA) has secured a ground-shattering landmark deal for the upcoming seventh edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) as all the 59 matches will be broadcasted live on television for the first time. Over the past six seasons that have gone by, only a few matches were telecasted live and the rest were not. But during the sixth edition, things slightly started to change, with more and more games being telecasted on TV.

With a stupendous amount of success, last year with the audience consuming it on TV and as well as spectators watching the matches in the stadium, (CA) has gone a step ahead and have this year acquired TV rights for all the matches. Foxtel, the payment provider, will telecast all the matches live while free-to-air network Channel Seven will show 24 games. During the sixth edition of the WBBL, 36 matches were shown on TV with the remaining few games streamed online.

In the upcoming season of WBBL, CA had initially planned to show only 47 games but after few discussions, the CA will now telecast all the 59 games live.  The full WBBL fixtures are also out and the remaining 39 games will be played in Adelaide, Perth, and Mackay in Queensland. Earlier CA had also announced that the first 20 fixtures will be played in Tasmania due to COVID-19 norms and protocols.

Alistair Dobson, the BBL general manager, is ecstatic to announce the full schedule for the seventh edition of the WBBL and said he owes to the loyal fans, who have been following the sport diligently.

WBBL full fixtures out as CA confirms the news

“The Weber WBBL is Australia’s highest rating sporting league for women and the world’s best cricket league for women,” Alistair Dobson, the BBL general manager, said as quoted by ESPNcricinffo. “We owe it to our players and loyal fans to deliver a full schedule, and today’s announcement further strengthens this,”

“At the same time, to also announce a landmark broadcast footprint is amazing. Fans can now watch every game on TV, ensuring that our passionate supporters will have access to world-class cricket despite the challenges of the pandemic.”

The tournament kicks off on October 14 with last year’s defending champions Sydney Thunder facing off against Melbourne Stars.