WICB decides to withdraw Darren Bravo from Zimbabwe series

View : 348

2 Min Read

Darren Bravo of West Indies
DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES – OCTOBER 17: Darren Bravo of West Indies leaves the field after being dismissed during Day Five of the First Test between Pakistan and West Indies at Dubai International Cricket Ground on October 17, 2016 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

The WICB has taken the executive decision to withdraw Darren Bravo from the Zimbabwe tour following the spat he had with the board on Twitter. The 27-year old Darren Bravo lashed out at the WICB on his official Twitter account where he stated that it was a bad move by the board to bump him down from an ‘A’ grade contract to a ‘C’ grade.

The WICB chairman David Cameron argued stating that his poor performances in recent times were part of the reason for Bravo’s contract downfall. In addition, the WICB awarded ‘B’ grade contracts only to Kraigg Brathwaite, Carlos Brathwaite, and Marlon Samuels.

Bravo recently was instrumenal in helping the West Indies secure their first overseas win in almost 8 years following their win over Pakistan in the third and final Test at Sharjah.

“It is explicit that if your averages are not above a certain level it tells you what contracts you get. It is very, very explicit,” Cameron had told SportsMax TV, a Caribbean television network. “His averages in the last two years have been declining, so what do you do? Reward poor performance or do you encourage him to get better?”

“You hav been failing 4 d last 4yrs. Y don’t u resign and FYI I’ve neva been given an A contract. Big idiot @davec51,” he tweeted.

Jason Mohammad has been roped in Bravo’s place with the WICB deciding to withdraw Bravo due to his inappropriate behavior.

“Due to inappropriate and unacceptable behaviour, which is contrary to his contractual obligations to the WICB”. A clause in his “match/tour contract”, the release said, “clearly states not to make any statement in or to any form of media (which shall include, without limitation, print media, television, radio, internet or any social networking media), or any other public statement, which would bring yourself, WICB or any official or authorised representative of WICB or the game of cricket into disrepute, and your agreement to use all such media in a responsible manner.”

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (capt), Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store