Women's Big Bash League 2018-19: All you need to know about the tournament

Women’s Big Bash League 2018-19: All you need to know about the tournament

The fourth edition will kick-start on December 1st and the final will be played on January 26th.

Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry of the Sixers
The Sixers pose with the trophy. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

While the BCCI is still contemplating if they should bring in a league for women, Cricket Australia is well set to roll out the fourth edition of the Women’s Big Bash League. The tournament was expected to bring to fore some great young talents and it has done so quite tremendously in the first three seasons.

Once again, the tournament will see all the eight teams in action fighting it out for the title. The WBBL 2018-19 kicks off in Victoria on December 1 at the newly revamped Junction Oval, with all the franchises showcasing world’s biggest stars and Australia’s best players, starting with a festive weekend.

Once again, the top ranked team will be hosting the semifinals and finals of the tournament which will urge the sides to battle out hard to finish at the helm. The stage is all set for the ladies to take over and it will be interesting to see how far the other teams can compete with the defending champions Sydney Sixers.

Here are all the details about the teams and the tournament that starts this Saturday.

Previous champions

The coveted trophy has remained in Sydney in the first three seasons. Sydney Thunder managed to win the inaugural edition in 2015/16, the same season where the men’s Thunder side won their first title as well. After that, Sydney Sixers emerged victorious in the next two campaigns and will be eager to win a third successive WBBL trophy.

With the tournament broadening its horizons, it will be difficult for the Sydney Sixers to defend their title. The biggest of names including Suzie Bates, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Heather Knight, Daniel Wyatt and various others will be heading to Australia to participate in world cricket’s biggest women’s league.

Broadcast details

Sony India will be telecasting Big Bash games as usual, but not all games might get live coverage in India. All the other action can be streamed live on Cricket Australia’s official website.

Indian players in the tournament

Harmanpreet and Smriti Mandhana will be the only representatives from India in this cricketing extravaganza. Smriti will be joining the struggling Hobart Hurricanes, who finished at the bottom last season. The Indian T20I skipper Harmanpreet will continue to ply trade with Sydney Thunder for the third successive season.


1. Sydney Sixers

Last season: Winners

Squad: Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Marizanne Kapp (SA), Carly Leeson, Sara McGlashan (NZ), Ellyse Perry, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Dane van Niekerk (SA), Tahlia Wilson (one more to be announced)

Ins: Stella Campbell, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Tahlia Wilson

Outs: Jodie Hicks, Clara Iemma, Emily Leys, Ange Reakes

2. Perth Scorchers

Last season: 2nd

Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Megan Banting, Nicole Bolton, Hayleigh Brennan, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Kate Cross (ENG), Lauren Ebsary, Heather Graham, Amy Jones (ENG), Emma King, Taneale Peschel, Chloe Piparo, Emily Smith (wk), Elyse Villani

Ins: Hayley Brennan, Kate Cross, Amy Jones, Meg Lanning

Outs: Natalie Sciver, Katie Hartshorn, Mikayla Hinkley, Thamsyn Newton, Katherine Brunt

3. Sydney Thunder

Last season: 3rd

Squad: Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes, Sam Bates, Stafanie Taylor (WI), Lisa Griffith, Harmanpreet Kaur (IND), Rachel Trenaman, Hannah Darlington, Nicola Carey, Rene Farrell, Belinda Vakarewa, Saskia Horley, Maisy Gibson, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Priest

Ins: Saskia Horley

Outs: Hannah Trethewy

4. Adelaide Strikers

Last season: 4th

Squad: Suzie Bates (NZ, c), Sophie Devine (NZ), Megan Schutt, Tahlia McGrath, Alex Price, Sarah Coyte, Ellie Falconer, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tegan McPharlin (wk), Katelyn Pope, Sam Betts, Danielle Hazell (Eng), Bridget Patterson, Tabatha Saville, Eliza Doddridge

Ins: Sarah Coyte, Danielle Hazell, Eliza Doddridge

Outs: Tammy Beaumont, Rhiannon Dick, Annie O’Neil

5. Brisbane Heat

Last season: 5th

Squad: Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Josie Dooley, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen, Charli Knott, Delissa Kimmince, Sune Luus (SA), Beth Mooney (wk), Georgia Prestwidge, Kirby Short, Courtney Sippel, Laura Wolvaardt (SA)

Ins: Sune Luus, Charlie Knott, Courtney Sippel, Josie Dooley,

Outs: Deandra Dottin, Holly Ferling, Courtney Hill, Kara Southerland

6. Melbourne Renegades

Last season: 6th

Squad: Amy Satterthwaite (NZ, c), Maitlan Brown, Zoe Cooke, Jess Duffin, Claire Koski, Erica Kershaw, Emma Inglis (wk), Anna Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb, Danni Wyatt (ENG)

Ins: Zoe Cooke, Erica Kershaw, Anna Lanning, Courtney Webb, Danni Wyatt

Outs: Jenny Taffs, Chamari Atapattu, Rhiann O’Donnell, Hayley Jensen, Kris Britt

7. Melbourne Stars

Last season: 7th

Squad: Kristen Beams (c), Erin Osborne, Makinley Blows, Elly Donald, Mignon du Preez (SA), Georgia Elwiss (Eng), Nicole Faltum (wk), Holly Ferling, Nicola Hancock, Alana King, Lizelle Lee (SA), Katie Mack, Chloe Rafferty, Ange Reakes, Annabel Sutherland

Ins: Elly Donald, Holly Ferling, Nicola Hancock, Ange Reakes

Outs: Hayleigh Brennan, Emma Kearney, Anna Lanning, Gemma Triscari

8. Hobart Hurricanes

Last season: 8th

Squad: Sasha Moloney (c), Stefanie Daffara, Ash Day, Erin Fazackerley, Katelyn Fryett, Corinne Hall, Brooke Hepburn, Heather Knight (ENG), Smriti Mandhana (WI), Hayley Matthews (WI), Rhiann O’Donnell, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Georgia Redmayne (wk), Emma Thompson

Ins: Heather Knight, Ash Day, Rhiann O’Donnell, Smriti Mandhana

Outs: Celeste Raack, Veda Krishnamurthy, Lauren Winfield, Nicola Hancock

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.