Women’s T20 World Cup 2020: Day 8, Round-up

India and New Zealand registered convincing victories on the day.

India Women
India Women. (Photo by Daniel Pockett-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

It was a normal day at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia with the expected teams in New Zealand and India registering convincing victories in group A encounters. While the Harmanpreet Kaur-led side sealed their top place in the group with a fourth consecutive win, it will be a direct shootout between New Zealand and Australia on Monday for the second spot.

As far as the first match of the day is concerned, the upset was on the cards with Bangladesh bowlers coming up with a lion-hearted performance after losing the toss. Their bowlers, especially Salma Khatun, Ritu Moni and Rumana Ahmed, tied the opposition batters nicely from the word go. The pressure kept on piling and early fall of the likes of Sophie Devine and Suzie Bates triggered a sensational collapse.


New Zealand were 66/2 at one stage in the 13th over and had Bates in the middle. But they lost their last eight wickets for just 25 runs in 35 deliveries thanks to the four-wicket haul from Ritu Moni. She returned with the figures of 4/18 in her first World Cup game while the skipper Khatun (3/7) and Rumana (2/17) assisted her well. New Zealand were bundled out for just 91 runs in the 19th over of the innings with Rachel Priest (25) being the top-scorer.

The chase should’ve been straightforward for Bangladesh. But the White Ferns staged a mighty comeback and never let the opposition batter off the hook at any stage in the innings. Constant fall of wickets and a heap of dot balls led to the pressure increasing on Bangladesh as they succumbed to a 17-run defeat. They were skittled for just 74 in the 20th over of the innings with Leigh Kasperek (3/23) and Hayley Jansen (3/14) starring for New Zealand.

Brief Scores

New Zealand Women – 91/10 after 18.2 overs (R Priest 25; R Moni 4/17, S Khatun 3/7)

Bangladesh Women – 74/10 after 19.5 overs (N Sultana 21; H Jansen 3/14, L Kasperek 3/23)

Result – New Zealand Women won by 17 runs.

India canter home against Sri Lanka

The second match of the day saw India locking horns against Sri Lanka. After winning the toss, the islanders got off to a good start thanks to their skipper Chamari Athapaththu who raced away to 33 off just 24 deliveries. But apart from her, none of the top six batters could really contribute to the total. India’s Radha Yadav and Rajeshwari Gayakwad spun the web to share six wickets between them conceding just 41 runs in eight overs.

Radha was the most successful bowler picking four wickets for 23 runs while Gayakwad scalped a couple of them. Sri Lanka didn’t seem to be crossing the 100-run mark either only for Kavisha Dilhari to play an unbeaten cameo of 25 runs and propel them to 113/9.

India were never troubled in the chase thanks to Shafali Verma‘s nonchalance at the top of the order. She scored 47 runs off just 34 deliveries and was helped by Smriti Mandhana (17) and Harmanpreet Kaur (15) partly as India chased down the target in the 15th over itself with seven wickets in hand.

Brief Scores

Sri Lanka Women – 113/9 after 20 overs (C Athapaththu 33; R Yadav 4/23, R Gayakwad 2/18)

India Women – 116/3 after 14.4 overs (S Verma 47; U Prabodhani 1/13)

Result – India Women won by seven wickets.