Women’s World T20 2018: Day 9- Preview

Women’s World T20 2018: Day 9- Preview

Both the matches don't have any significance as far as progressing to the next round is concerned.

Team India
Team India. (Photo Source: ICC)

The fate of Group B has already been sealed as Australia and India have already made their way into the semi-final of the 2018 ICC Women’s World T20 in the West Indies. To be precise, they are the only teams in the T20 tournament to not have lost a single match thus far. Both teams would be locking horns tomorrow and would be hoping to end their group on the top of the ladder.

In the day’s second match, New Zealand and Ireland would be crossing swords. While the White Ferns opened their account against Pakistan, they would want to end their campaign with another impressive performance. On the other hand, Ireland would love to end on a high. Both matches would be staged at the Providence Stadium in Guyana, which is also set to host its last matches in the event.

Here’s the prelude of what’s on offer on Day 9 of World T20:

Match 17- India vs Australia

Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana are the opening batswomen. The likes of Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur would come in at three and four. Veda Krishnamurthy, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma and Taniya Bhatia are the other batters in the lineup. Mansi Joshi is the only fast bowler with Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav being the spin bowling options.

India Probable XI

Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Veda Krishnamurthy, Dayalan Hemalatha, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav

Australia Probable XI

Beth Mooney and wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy are the openers. Meg Lanning and Ashleigh Gardner are slotted to come in at number three and four respectively. Elysse Villani, Rachael Haynes and Ellyse Perry add depth to the batting lineup. Perry and Gardner are useful bowlers as well. Sophie Molineux and Georgia Wareham are the spinners with Scutt as the fast bowler.

Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy (wk), Meg Lanning (C), Ashleigh Gardner, Elysse Vilani, Rachael Haynes, Ellyse Perry, Sophie Molineux, Dellisa Kimmince, Georgia Wareham, Megan Schutt

Match Timings – 20:30 IST; 11:00 local

Match 18- New Zealand vs Ireland  

Sophie Devine and Suzie Bates will remain to be the opening batters. The duo can also inflict damage with the ball in hand. Skipper Amy Satterthwaite is listed to come in next. The likes of Katey Martin and Leigh Kasperek, Maddy Green and Jess Watkin are the other batswomen. Lea Tahuhu and Hannah Rowe are the fast bowlers with Amelia Kerr as the leg-spinning option.

New Zealand Probable XI

Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Amy Satterthwaite (C), Katey Martin (wk), Leigh Kasperek, Maddy Green, Jess Watkin, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Hannah Rowe, Amelia Kerr, Lea Tahuhu

Ireland Probable XI

Claire Shillington and Gaby Lewis are the openers with Isobel Joyce and skipper Lucy Delany to follow. Shauna Kavanagh, Kim Garth and Eimear Richardson are the other batters. Mary Waldron is the designated wicketkeeper. The bowling lineup is a formidable one as well with the likes of Celeste Raack, Lucy O’Reilly, Lara Maritz being in their ranks.

Claire Shillington, Gaby Lewis, Isobel Joyce, Laura Delany (C), Shauna Kavanagh, Kim Garth, Eimear Richardson, Mary Waldron (wk), Lara Maritz, Celeste Raack, Lucy O’Reilly

Match Timings: 1:30 IST (November 17); 16:00 local (November 16)

Broadcast Details

TV – Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD

Live Streaming – Hotstar

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Women’s World T20 2018, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.