England vs New Zealand

Upcoming - 1st Match - Ahmedabad

ICC Cricket World Cup


New Zealand

5 Oct 2023, Thur, 2:00 PM IST

Pakistan vs Netherlands

Upcoming - 2nd Match - Hyderabad

ICC Cricket World Cup



6 Oct 2023, Fri, 2:00 PM IST

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Upcoming - 3rd Match - Dharamsala

ICC Cricket World Cup



7 Oct 2023, Sat, 10:30 AM IST

South Africa vs Sri Lanka

Upcoming - 4th Match - Delhi

ICC Cricket World Cup

South Africa

Sri Lanka

7 Oct 2023, Sat, 2:00 PM IST

India vs Australia

Upcoming - 5th Match - Chennai

ICC Cricket World Cup



8 Oct 2023, Sun, 2:00 PM IST

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

ICC World Cup
ICC World Cup. (Photo Source: ICC)

The eagerly-anticipated 2023 ODI World Cup is all set to commence on October 5, as defending champions England will lock horns with New Zealand in a recap of the 2019 final in the curtain raiser. With 12 editions played previously, Australia have been the most successful side, having won the title a record-extending five times. 

It is worth noting that Australia and West Indies are the only two teams to have won the titles in consecutive years. While West Indies clinched back-to-back titles in 1975 and 1979, Australia won it thrice on the trot in 1999, 2003, and 2007. 

Sri Lanka, as the co-host of the 1996 World Cup, became the first host nation to lift the trophy. The dominant Aussies have reached seven of the 12 finals played thus far whereas New Zealand are yet to lift the title despite coming close as runners-up two times in 2015 and 2019.  

The BCCI and the ICC announced the much-awaited ODI World Cup Schedule on Tuesday, June 27, and as many as 10 cities have been confirmed to host the marquee event. It is worth noting that team India have won the coveted title twice thus far, in the years 1983 and 2011. 

Speaking about the format of the forthcoming event, each of the 10 teams will play every other team in a round-robin fashion. The top four teams in the ODI World Cup Points Table will then progress to the knockout stages, slated to begin on November 15 and the final to be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19. 

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners List

Year Host Winner Score Runner-Up Score
1975 England West Indies 291–8 Australia 274
1979 England West Indies 286–9 England 194
1983 England India 183 West Indies 140
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan 249–6 England 227
1996 Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241
1999 England Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132
2003 South Africa Australia 359–2 India 234
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8
2011 India, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8
2023 - - - - -

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series

Year Winner Captain Man of the Match Player of the Tournament
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd
Clive Lloyd
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd  Viv Richards -
1983 India Kapil Dev Mohinder Amarnath -
1987 Australia Allan Border  David Boon -
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan Wasim Akram Martin Crowe
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga Aravinda de Silva Sanath Jayasuriya
1999 Australia Steve Waugh Shane Warne Lance Klusener
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting Ricky Ponting Sachin Tendulkar
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting Adam Gilchrist Glenn McGrath
2011 India MS Dhoni Mahendra Singh Dhoni Yuvraj Singh
2015 Australia Michale Clarke James Faulkner Micthell Strac
2019 England Eion Morgan Ben Stokes Kane Williamson
2023 - - - -

Most Titles Wins in ODI Cricket World Cup

World Cup Team World Cup Trophy World Cup Winner
Australia 5 Times 1987,1999,2003,2007,2015
India 2 Times 1983,2011
West Indies 2 Times 1975,1979
Sri Lanka 1 Time 1996
Pakistan 1 Time 1992
England 1 Time 2019

*Last Updated on 18th September, 2023