World Test Championship 2019-21: Prize Money details for Winner and Runner-up

The summit clash will get underway on June 18.

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson
Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson. (Photo Source: Getty Images)
Gaurav Tripathi

Jr. Statistician

View : 24.6K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

India and New Zealand are gearing up to lock horns in the ICC World Test Championship final, which gets underway on June 18 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. Fans worldwide are expected to witness a close contest between the bat and the ball as these two sides have been doing exceptionally well in red-ball cricket lately. In fact, New Zealand and India are also holding the first and second spot in the ICC Test team ranking respectively.

Along with the prestigious trophy, a massive amount is also at stake in the WTC final. CEO of the International Cricket Council (ICC), Geoff Allardice has announced that the winner of the summit clash will receive a staggering US $1.6 million as prize money. At the same time, the runner-up will walk away with $800,000. In case, the encounter results in a draw, the winning prize money will be divided between the two sides.

Cricket World expecting a close contest in WTC final

Meanwhile, India landed in England on June 3 and underwent a 10-day quarantine period. Hence, they won’t head into the summit clash on the back of a lot of practice. Nevertheless, they have a bunch of match-winners, who has performed against the best of teams. The likes of Cheteshwar Pujara, skipper Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane have scored runs all over the globe while Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah are some of the most celebrated Test bowlers going around.

On the contrary, New Zealand have many odds in their favour and many experts are even backing them to upset the Indians. The conditions in England are quite similar to that of New Zealand. Hence, adapting to the surroundings won’t be a massive challenge for them. Moreover, they recently defeated hosts England 1-0 in the Test series, which would boost up their morale even further.

The likes of Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, and Devon Conway will have the onus to thrash the Indian pacers while Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and Neil Wagner would want to see the timbers flying everywhere. Not to forget, New Zealand registered a 2-0 triumph when they last met India in a Test series. Hence, it would be interesting to see if they’ll replicate their heroics or Virat Kohli’s men will emerge victorious.

WTC Prize Money details

Prize Money
Winners $1.6 Million (INR 11.71 Crore)
Runners-up $800000 (INR 5.8 Crore)
Joint-Winners $1.2 Million each (INR 8.78 Crore)
Australia $450000 (INR 3.3 Crore)
England $350000 (INR 2.5 Crore)
Pakistan $200000 (INR 1.5 Crore)
Other teams $100000 each (INR 73 Lakhs)