World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table 2023-2025

Team India has ascended to the summit of the World Test Championship (WTC) standings following Australia's triumph over New Zealand in the inaugural Test at Wellington. They further solidified their position at the top by beating England by 4-1 in five-match test series with a massive win by an innings and 64 runs in the fifth Test in Dharamsala. Even in the scenario where New Zealand claimed victory in the second Test in Christchurch, India's reign at the summit will remain unchallenged.

After a thrilling three-wicket victory over New Zealand in the second Test at Hagley Oval, Christchurch, Australia have risen to the second spot. The match witnessed stellar performances from Mitchell Marsh (80 off 102) and Alex Carey (98* off 123) who guided their team to chase down 281 in the fourth innings with their massive 140-run stand after Australia were reduced to 80/5.

The defeat against Australia has left New Zealand with 36 points from six matches, diminishing their points' percentage to 50, placing them below Australia on the third spot. Meanwhile, Australia rose to the second position following their 2-0 win over the Kiwis and now sit with a points' percentage of 62.50. The defending champions of WTC are once again giving fierce competition and are once again among the top contenders. 

New Zealand are slated for challenging away tours against Sri Lanka and India later this year, followed by a crucial series against England at home in November-December. Meanwhile, Australia's remaining fixtures include the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against India in late 2024, followed by a two-Test excursion to Sri Lanka in January 2025. In contrast, Ben Stokes-led England are languishing on the last spot with just three wins from ten matches, having a points percentage of 17.50. Their problems have been compounded by the loss of 21 points due to slow over-rate violations. 

Under the reign of head coach Brendon McCullum and captain Stokes, England have brought the excitement back into the longest format with their Bazball style of play. However, the results on paper haven't been highly positive for their side. Sri Lanka, meanwhile, registered their first win of the ongoing cycle and moved to sixth place with 12 points and PCT of 33.33. The Lankan Lions raised their position courtesy of a dominating win against Bangladesh by 328 runs in the Sylhet Test.

World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table (2023-2025)

Pos Team Matches Won Lost Drawn Points PCT (%)
1 INDIA 9 6 2 1 74 68.52
2 AUSTRALIA 12 8 3 1 90 62.50
3 NEW ZEALAND 6 3 3 0 36 50.00
4 SRI LANKA 4 2 2 0 24 50
5 PAKISTAN 5 2 3 0 22 36.66
6 WEST INDIES 4 1 2 1 16 33.33
7 SOUTH AFRICA 4 1 3 0 12 25
= BANGLADESH 4 1 3 0 12 25
9 ENGLAND 10 3 6 1 21 17.50
*Last updated on 8th July, 2024