ZIM Tri-Series, 2018: Final, Australia vs Pakistan – Statistical Highlights

ZIM Tri-Series, 2018: Final, Australia vs Pakistan – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were registered during Pakistan’s record chase to win the series.

Fakhar Zaman Pakistan
Fakhar Zaman. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Pakistan pulled off a sensational win in the final against Australia to keep their series winning streak intact by chasing a 184-run target with four balls to spare. D’Arcy Short’s 53-ball 76 and Aaron Finch’s 27-ball 47 helped the Aussies to 183/8 despite a collapse towards the end of the innings. Pakistan lost two wickets in the very first over and their skipper Sarfraz Ahmed also got out before the powerplay. However, Fakhar Zaman counter-attacked the Australian bowlers along with Shoaib Malik to help them win the game by six wickets.

All the stats and numbers that were registered during Pakistan’s record chase to win the series:

1 – Hasan Ali’s no-ball in the 19th over of Australia’s innings is the only no-ball bowled by any side in this tournament. This is the first T20I series/tournament of five and more matches that had only one no-ball.

3 – Sahibzada Farhan became the 3rd player to be dismissed for a diamond duck on T20I debut. Ashley Noffke against New Zealand in the 2007 Perth T20I and Soumya Sarkar against Pakistan in the 2015 Dhaka T20I were run out without facing a ball on debut.

4 – Pakistan is the fourth team to win a T20I game after losing two wickets in the first four balls of an inning. India in the 2016 Asia Cup game against Pakistan, the Netherlands against Oman in the 2017 Abu Dhabi T20I and Australia against England in this year’s Hobart T20I won after losing their 2nd wicket as early as by the 4th ball.

9 – Pakistan’s series victory is their 9th consecutive T20I series/tournament win since being knocked out from the 2016 WT20. No other team has won more than five consecutive T20I series/tournaments in succession.

91 – Fakhar Zaman’s 91 is the highest individual score by any player in a T20I tournament final surpassing Marlon Samuels’ unbeaten 85 in the WT20 2016 final. His innings is overall the 2nd highest in a T20I knockout game behind Tillakaratne Dilshan’s unbeaten 96 against Windies in the 2009 WT20 semis.

107 – The 107-run partnership between Shoaib Malik and Fakhar Zaman is Pakistan’s 2nd highest 4th wicket partnership in T20I cricket behind 114* by Malik and Umar Akmal in the 2016 T20I against UAE. Malik has been involved in all the five century partnerships in T20Is for the 4th and lower wicket in this format.

This partnership is also the 2nd century stand in a T20I tournament final behind Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen’s 111 in 2010 WT20 final also against Australia.

184 – The 184-run chase in this game is the highest successful run-chase in T20I cricket for Pakistan. Their previous highest was 176 against Bangladesh in the 2012 WT20 game and also in the 2015 Lahore T20I against Zimbabwe.

184 – Pakistan’s successful chase of 184 is the highest by any side in a T20I final surpassing the 167-run chase by India in the Nidahas Trophy final earlier this year.

278 – Fakhar Zaman’s 278 runs in this tournament are the most by a Pakistan player and overall the 6th most in a T20I series/tournament. Salman Butt’s 223 runs in the 2010 WT20 are the previous most runs in a T20I series/tournament for Pakistan.

For all the latest cricket news and other updates follow CricTracker.