Zimbabwe set to play T20I tri-nation series in Bangladesh

The series is scheduled to be played next month.

Mushfiqur Rahim
Zimbabwe’s captain Brendan Taylor celebrates the wicket of Bangladesh Mushfiqur Rahim. (Photo Source JEKESAI NJIKIZANA/AFP/Getty Images)

View : 1.6K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Zimbabwe Cricket hasn’t had the best of times by any means of late. The International Cricket Council (ICC) suspended them last month, withdrawing all the funding and support. After the development, a number of cricketers, including Peter Moor and Sikandar Raza announced their retirement from cricket at the highest level, disappointed. However, all is not over for their cricket.

Zimbabwe are now scheduled to play a T20I triangular series in Bangladesh in September with Afghanistan being the third team. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had to get a green signal from ZC and the confirmation eventually came. The series was meant to be a preparatory one for Zimbabwe for the T20 World Cup qualifiers, from which they were removed, replaced by Nigeria.

ICC allowed Zimbabwe to play against member boards

The series will be played from September 13 to 24 with Chattogram and Dhaka being the venues. Dhaka will host the final on September 24. Prior to that Bangladesh will take part in a one-off Test versus Afghanistan in Chattogram from September 5 to 9.

“We are holding the tri-series as planned. We had to wait till now for them to confirm their participation. The ICC has clearly stated that they are allowed to play against member boards,” Nizamuddin Chowdhury, the BCB chairman, was quoted as saying in ESPNcricinfo.

It has been learned that there could also be a One Day International series and the possibilities of the same haven’t been ruled out by the country’s cricket board. These matches could well be ODI skipper Mashrafe Mortaza’s swansong from international cricket.

Bangladesh recently played the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka. The Tigers slumped to defeats in all the encounters at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. The visitors went into the series without the likes of Mashrafe, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin and Liton Das. Tamim Iqbal was appointed as the skipper, but he couldn’t live up to the expectations.

Here is the schedule for the tri-nation series

September 13, Friday- Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe- Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

September 14, Saturday- Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe- Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

September 15, Sunday- Bangladesh vs Afghanistan- Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

September 18, Wednesday- Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe- Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

September 20, Friday- Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe- Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

September 21, Saturday- Bangladesh vs Afghanistan- Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

September 24, Tuesday- Final- Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

List of Virat Kohli’s ridiculously expensive assets