3 IPL Captains who never won a match

3 IPL Captains who never won a match

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have matured a lot as a captain by leading their sides in IPL.

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo. (Photo Source: STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN/AFP via Getty Images)

The Indian Premier League is the grandest T20 league on the planet with players from all over the world wishing to be a part of the tourney. Over the years, the IPL has produced a lot of new talents and also given a new life to the careers of veteran players. Besides playing in the IPL, the players also dream to lead an IPL team.

To captain an IPL franchise not only puts more spotlight on the individuals but it also gives them an opportunity to test their leadership skills. Players like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have matured a lot as a captain because of the experience that they gained in the IPL.

But, as the wise men have said, “Every coin has two sides.” While there have been a lot of successful IPL captains in the last 12 years, there have been three players who could never steer their team to a single win.

Here’s a look at the three IPL captains who never won a match–

Parthiv Patel

Parthiv Patel
Parthiv Patel. (Photo: IANS)

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s wicket-keeper batsman, Parthiv Patel had captained the former IPL franchise, Kochi Tuskers Kerala in its last ever IPL match. The team’s regular captain, Mahela Jayawardene was unavailable and since Kochi had already been knocked out of the tournament, the team management handed the reigns to Parthiv ahead of Brad Hodge.

Patel made his captaincy debut against the defending champions Chennai Super Kings at Chepauk. The Tuskers had bowled really well in the first innings as they kept Chennai down to 153 runs in 20 overs. Chasing a modest total of 154 runs, Parthiv opened the innings for Kochi but lost his wicket for just 6 runs.

The trio of Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina and Shadab Jakati kept a check on the run flow as Kochi lost the match by 11 runs despite Hodge’s fifty. Though he has played for multiple franchises since 2011, Parthiv has never got a chance to lead a team.