Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021-22: Day 9- Round-up

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021-22: Day 9- Round-up

All six teams of the competition were on display on the ninth day.

Johnson Charles and Hazratullah Zazai
Johnson Charles and Hazratullah Zazai. (Photo Source: Twitter/T10 League)

The Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021-22 is in its latter half and the competition has become stiffer. All six teams of the tournament were on display on Saturday (November 27), and some mind-boggling action was witnessed over the 22 yards. While Northern Warriors thrashed Team Abu Dhabi by 10 wickets, Bangla Tigers defeated The Chennai Braves by nine wickets.

The last game of the day saw Delhi Bulls suffering an eight-wicket defeat against Deccan Gladiators. Speaking of the first of three matches, Northern Warriors bounced back in style to register their second win as they made a mockery of a 146 run target to win the first contest of Saturday in the Abu Dhabi T10 by 10 wickets.

Moeen Ali and Kennar Lewis, who had brought up a century stand in the tournament just a few days ago, lit up the stage once again, this time going one better and doing that in a humongous chase to win their team the match without the loss of a single wicket. Earlier, Colin Ingram’s 61 had helped put Team Abu Dhabi a massive 145 on the board.

Hazratullah Zazai continues his sensational run

Coming to the proceedings of the second game, Riding on the back of another solid partnership between openers Johnson Charles and Hazratullah Zazai, Bangla Tigers jumped to the numero uno position on the points table in Abu Dhabi T10 with a win over The Chennai Braves. After restricting the Braves to 89, thanks to some fine bowling by Luke Fletcher, the Tigers came out all guns blazing in their chase and wrapped their fifth win of this edition easily.

Despite having the same number of wins as Team Abu Dhabi, the Tigers now sit atop the points table courtesy of a better run rate. For The Chennai Braves who came into the match seeking their first win, it proved to be another forgettable outing as they suffered their seventh defeat of the tournament.

The third and last contest of the day was also pretty much one-sided. Wanindu Hasaranga and Tymal Mills bowled exceptional spells as the Delhi Bulls were restricted to 94/6 while batting first. While the Gladiators lost Tom Kohler-Cadmore early in their chase, Najibullah Zadran and Tom Banton played fiery knocks. As a result, the Wahab Riaz-led side crossed the line in 6.1 overs, winning the contest by eight wickets.

Brief scores:

Team Abu Dhabi vs Northern Warriors

Northern Warriors 146/0 (Moeen Ali 77*, Kennar Lewis 65*, Jamie Overton 0-1)

Team Abu Dhabi 145/6 (Colin Ingram 61, Liam Livingstone 27, Rayad Emrit 2-21)

The Chennai Braves vs Bangla Tigers

Bangla Tigers 95/1 (Hazratullah Zazai 46*, Johnson Charles 30, Roman Walker 1-11)

The Chennai Braves 89/4 (Mohammad Shahzad 32, Mark Deyal 28, Luke Fletcher 2-17)

Delhi Bulls vs Deccan Gladiators

Delhi Bulls 94/6 (Romario Shepherd 26*, Tymal Mills 2-10)

Deccan Gladiators 98/2 (Tom Banton 46*, Akeal Hosein 1-18)