Analysis: ICC World T20 2016 team of the tournament

Analysis: ICC World T20 2016 team of the tournament

The International Cricket Council (ICC) released the ICC World T20 XI. A select group of former cricketers and commentators chose the teams on the basis of the players’ performances in the World T20. The delightful news for the Indian fans is that Indian batting ace Virat Kohli, who was awarded the ‘Player of the Tournament’ trophy, was named as the captain of the team. Another Indian to feature in the list is veteran fast bowler Ashish Nehra. The list also comprises of four players from runners-up England, two from the West Indies and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa. Here is how the team looks like.

Jason Roy (England):

Jason Roy
DELHI, INDIA – MARCH 30: Jason Roy of England celebrates his half century during the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 Semi-Final match between England and New Zealand at The Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium on March 30, 2016 in Delhi, India. (Photo by Jan Kruger-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

The hard hitting right handed opener gave blazing starts to England in the tournament. A batsman with a great T20 reputation, Roy made 183 runs at an average of 30.50 with a strike rate of 148.78. He could fared better if he could control his erratic nature while batting which resulted in his downfall after quick starts. His best performance in the tournament was the entertaining knock of 78 off just 44 balls in the semi-final clash against New Zealand.

Page 1 / 12