Anil Kumble gets the ‘coach of the year’ award

He highlighted the role of journalists and media in any cricketer's life.

coach Anil Kumble
Anil Kumble. (Photo by Christopher Lee/Getty Images)

Anil Kumble, one of biggest match-winners this country has ever produced, was named as the ‘coach of the year’ by the Annual Sports Writers’ Association of Bangalore (SWAB) at Taj Vivanta in their award function in Bengaluru. The award was presented by Indian Women’s hockey team coach Harendra Singh.

Kumble, who was the head coach for the Indian cricket team till June 2017, resigned from the post by citing ‘captain’s reservations’ about his style of coaching as the prime reason. The Indian legend made his presence felt at the awards night as he was given the honour.


He highlighted the role of journalists and media in any cricketer’s life.

Thanking the journalists

“Congratulations to all the winners. SWAB has continued to recognize and encourage talent here in Karnataka. Without their support – I was one of the award winners very early in my cricketing career, and that certainly helped me to move onward. Also, the recognition that you receive from sports writers because they see you grow from an early age,” said Kumble.

“I remember journalists who are sitting here, watching me from my school cricket right up to retirement and also the other roles I have taken up after that. It’s wonderful what SWAB has been doing and I hope you continue to do that,” he added.

Kumble was quick to acknowledge the hardships that the writers and journalists face these days just in order to bring the apt news in front of the public, without caring about the consequences of the same.

“The other thing I’ve been proud of, which the majority of sports writers who are all sitting here do, is that in this day and age when the narratives are generally through hearsay, ‘sources’ and sometimes speculation – they still do a job without fear or favor. And they do a fantastic job on that. Congratulations to all of you,” Kumble concluded.

List of award winners:

Best sportsperson of the year (Male): Sunil Chhetri

Best sportsperson of the year (female): Aditi Ashok

Team of the year: Bengaluru FC

Coach of the year: Anil Kumble

Lifetime Achievement Award: MP Ganesh

Best junior sportsperson of the year (male): Arjun Maini

Best junior sportsperson of the year (female): Damini Gowda

Association of the year: Karnataka Badminton Association

Behind the scenes award: K Sriram