Asia Cup 2018: Mashrafe Mortaza refrains from speaking on Liton Das’ dismissal against India in final
Bangladesh had an impressive campaign in the six-nation event.
Updated - Oct 1, 2018 6:17 pm
Bangladesh and India locked horns in the final of the 2018 Asia Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), which turned out to be a humdinger. The match went right down to the last ball and to the Tigers’ dismay, Mahmudullah was unable to defend six runs off the last over as Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav helped the Men in Blue thump Mashrafe Mortaza and Co by three wickets.
However, the match was marred by the controversy of Liton Das’ dismissal by chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav. The right-hander played an outstanding knock of 121 runs from 117 balls with the help of 12 boundaries and a couple of sixes. Nevertheless, Kuldeep nipped him out with a vicious wrong’un in the final delivery of the 41st over that spun past the batsman’s outside edge.
I don’t wish to incur further penalties
Dhoni took the bails off in a flash, but the square-leg umpire went up to third umpire Rod Tucker, who eventually ruled the decision in India’s favour after having a close look at whether Das’ foot was inside or outside the popping crease. Recently, Mortaza, the Bangladeshi captain, was asked to share his opinions on the dismissal, but he refrained from commenting on the same.
“Look, I have already been fined 40 percent of my match fees owing to a slow over-rate and I don’t wish to incur further penalties,” Mortaza was quoted as saying in a press conference after his return to Bangladesh following the multi-nation tournament.
Bangladesh had an impressive campaign in the six-nation event. They started their journey with a resounding win against Sri Lanka but slumped to a defeat against Afghanistan. In the Super 4 phase, they lost their first contest against India, however, came back to win back-to-back matches against the Afghans and Pakistan to qualify for the final at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.