Australia vs India, 2018-19: Border-Gavaskar Trophy – Statistical Highlights

Australia vs India, 2018-19: Border-Gavaskar Trophy – Statistical Highlights

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2018-19.

India. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Coming to Australia as the No.1 ranked Test side, India kept their reputation alive by registering the first ever Test series win on Australian soil. They defeated the hosts in the Adelaide Test to go 1-0 up before Australia bounced back in Perth. India, once again took the lead when they dominated the Melbourne Test. They were well on course to the 3rd win in the series if not for the rain in Sydney that allowed less than 100 overs of play in the last three days including the whole of the final day which was a washout.

All the stats and numbers that were recorded during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2018/19:

2 – This is only the 2nd Test series when India won more than one Test match in Australia. They’d won two Tests in the 1977-78 tour but lost the series as Australia won three in that series.

4 – Number of 6-wicket hauls in this Test series – one each by Nathan Lyon (6/122), Mohammed Shami (6/33), Jasprit Bumrah (6/33) and Pat Cummins (6/27). This is only the 2nd Test series in Australia since 1996 with as many as four 6-wicket hauls as the other was 2010/11 Ashes.

5 – Number of individual centuries in this series – 3 by Cheteshwar Pujara and one each by Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant. No Australian managed to score a hundred in this series.

The five tons are the fewest in an Australia-India Test series in Australia and the joint fewest in a four or more match series between these two sides.

20 – Pant’s 20 dismissals are the most by a wicketkeeper in this Test series. The Australian captain Tim Paine has 16 dismissals to his name. Pant is also the first Indian keeper to have been a part of 20 dismissals in a Test series.

21Jasprit Bumrah and Nathan Lyon have the most number of wickets in a Test series with 21 apiece. Bumrah’s 21 wickets are the 2nd most by an Indian pacer in a Test series against Australia behind Kapil Dev’s 25 in the 5-match 1991/92 tour of Australia.

53 – Number of byes Australia conceded in this Test series; the most by them in a home Test series since the 71 byes in the 1950/51 home Ashes.

174 – The 174 runs by Tim Paine in this Test series are the fewest by an Australian captain in a Test series against India at home. The previous fewest were 267 by Steve Waugh during the 2003/04 four-match series.

350Rishabh Pant’s 350 runs in this series are the most by a wicket-keeper in a Test series between India and Australia. The young keeper surpassed MS Dhoni’s tally of 326 runs during the 2013 series in India.

521 – Cheteshwar Pujara is the leading run-getter in this Test series with 521 runs to his name. Pant (350) is the only other batsman with over 300 runs in this Test series. This is the first time Pujara has aggregated over 500 runs in a Test series.

524 – Runs aggregated by wicketkeepers in this series; the first Test series between Australia and India where the keepers have scored 500+ runs. The previous most was 489 runs in the 5-match Test series in 1977-78 in Australia.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from Australia vs India seriesMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on