BBL 2019-20: Fielder jumps from outside rope to throw the ball for relay catch, confuses umpires
Many fans were left in utter shock after Matthew Wade was adjudged out off Renshaw's controversial catch.
by Ameya Author
Published - Jan 9, 2020 6:02 pm | Updated - Jan 9, 2020 6:04 pm
Brisbane Heat registered a comprehensive five-wicket victory over Hobart Hurricanes in Match 29 of the Big Bash League 2019-20. Chris Lynn and Co. registered their second consecutive win in BBL 2019-20 and managed to clinch two important points, taking took them to the third position in the league table. All-rounder Ben Cutting was awarded Man of the Match due to his brilliant 43-run knock which propelled Heat to the target. Despite being a low-scoring affair, the encounter turned out to be a thrilling one due to many individual performances.
However, one instance that hogged much attention in the match was the catch which Matt Renshaw pulled off outside the boundary rope. Many fans were left in utter shock after Matthew Wade was adjudged out off Renshaw’s controversial catch.
Wade, who was batting on 61, attempted to loft the ball for a maximum in the 15th over off Ben Cutting. Nevertheless, Wade had to go back to the pavilion after Renshaw plucked a stunning yet debatable catch. Many fans were fuming at the decision as Renshaw caught the ball inside the rope, tossed it in the air and went over the rope before jumping and throwing the ball back to his teammate Tom Banton.
This is genuinely blowing our mind. After all that, Matthew Wade is GONE!
— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 9, 2020
Even Tom Banton and Matthew Wade were confused whether it was a legal catch or not. However, to the surprise of many fans, the third umpire overturned his decision and eventually gave Wade out. Wade’s brilliant innings came to an end after this incident.
Brisbane Heat registered their second consecutive win in BBL 2019-20
The left-hander smashed Heat’s bowlers across the park and played a convincing knock of 61 runs off 46 balls with three boundaries and two massive sixes. In no time, fans on Twitter lashed out saying that the manner of Wade’s dismissal was not legal.
But, according to a rule change introduced by ICC in 2017, Renshaw’s effort can be deemed as a legal catch. According to the recent rule change, a fielder can lob a ball back in from outside the ropes, as long as his feet were not grounded at the time of his contact with the ball.
Wade’s controversial dismissal was probably the instance which played a pivotal role in the match’s outcome. After restricting Hurricanes to a total of 126, Heat chased down the total with 10 balls to spare. Wade’s presence at the crease might have assisted in adding significant runs to Hurricanes’ total.
Watch: Irfan Pathan’s interview post his retirement