BBL 2019-20: Match 21, Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat – A win after seven years in Hobart, Brisbane's record total, a high-scoring game and more stats

BBL 2019-20: Match 21, Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat – A win after seven years in Hobart, Brisbane’s record total, a high-scoring game and more stats

All the statistical highlights from the high-scoring match between Heat and Hurricanes.

Chris Lynn
Chris Lynn. (Photo by Graham Denholm – CA/Cricket Australia via Getty Images)

Brisbane Heat recorded only their 2nd win in five matches they played in the BBL 2019-20 with a convincing victory over Hobart Hurricanes. Brisbane registered their highest BBL total ever as they finished on 212/3 as Chris Lynn (88* off 55) and Max Bryant (65 off 36) struck the fifties. The Hurricanes started off the chase well with their top five scoring 20+ but none of them reached 30. Hence, the home team were restricted to just 181/9 and lost the match by 31 runs.

All the statistical highlights from the high-scoring match between Heat and Hurricanes:

End of Brisbane’s losing streak in Hobart:

5-2 – Brisbane Heat won their first BBL match at Hobart’s Bellerive Oval since the start of 2013-14 season. Heat’s last victory at this venue came in 2012-13 when they defeated Hurricanes by 8 wickets. Brisbane lost all the five matches they played in Hobart between the two wins.

A record total by the Brisbane:

212/3 – Brisbane Heat’s total of 212/3 is now the 3rd highest total in the Big Bash League for any team. The top two totals came in the 2016-17 season match at the Docklands where Hurricanes finished with 223/8 while chasing the Melbourne Renegades’ total of 222/4.

The previous highest BBL total by the Heat was 209/3 also against Hurricanes at the Gabba in the 2013-14 season and also 209/4 against the Sydney Sixers earlier this season.

393 – A total of 393 runs were aggregated by both the teams in this match; the 9th highest aggregated match in the Big Bash League history. The 393 runs are also the 2nd most during a BBL game in Hobart behind the 417 runs scored in the 2014-15 season match also between Hurricanes and Heat.

A big total without any big knocks:

181/9 – The Hobart Hurricanes’ total of 181/9 is the highest Twenty20 total without an individual 30+ score. In fact, this is the first-ever 180+ total in T20s without an individual reaching 30. The previous lowest ‘highest individual score’ in a T20 inning of 180+ total was 31* during Central Districts’ 180/8 against Auckland in the 2007/08 season.

1 – For the first time, as many as six players scored 20+ runs in a Big Bash League innings. The Hobart Hurricanes’ top five scored 20+ runs while Clive Rose scored 27 batting at No.8 position.

A game of boundaries:

25 – Number of fours hit by Brisbane Heat during their record total; the joint-most boundary fours in a BBL inning. The Adelaide Strikers also hit 25 fours against Perth Scorchers during the rain-affected 18-over game earlier this season at the Adelaide Oval.

39 – Alongside the 25 fours by Brisbane, the Hobart Hurricanes also struck 14 fours in this match. The total of 39 fours are the 2nd most in a Big Bash League game. The 2011-12 season match between these two sides at the Gabba witnessed as many as 41 fours.

A milestone in sixes for Lynn:

151 – The 2nd of the three sixes Chris Lynn hit during this match was his 150th maximum on Australian soil in Twenty20 cricket. He is the first player to strike 150 T20 sixes in Australia and overall the 19th player to hit 150 T20 sixes in a country. 13 players in India, 3 players in West Indies and 2 players in England struck 150+ sixes in the Twenty20 format.

D’Arcy goes past Paine:

700 – D’Arcy Short has amassed 700 runs in the BBL matches at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart. He is now the leading run-getter in BBL matches at this venue surpassing Tim Paine’s 685 runs.

Brisbane bowlers share wickets:

7 – All the seven bowlers used by the Brisbane Heat in this match ended up picking at least one wicket; the joint-most number of bowlers taking a wicket in a Twenty20 inning. This is the 19th such instance in the T20 format and only the 2nd in Big Bash League. Seven bowlers picked up at least a wicket for the Sydney Thunder during the 2018-19 season match against Adelaide Strikers.