BCCI announces Indian Women's T20I squad for South Africa tour

BCCI announces Indian Women’s T20I squad for South Africa tour

The team also consists of two wicket-keepers.

Harmanpreet Kaur of India
Harmanpreet Kaur of India. (Photo by Harry Trump-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

The Indian Women’s team is all set to leave for the South African tour early. Skipper Mithali Raj had earlier remarked that the team wanted to get acclimatised to the conditions there. Following the three-game One Day International series, there is a T20 International series against the Proteas. The Indian team is supposed to play 5 T20Is against South Africa.

The All India Women’s Selection Committee has also gone ahead and named the T20I squad. The selectors have named a new captain keeping in mind, the WT20 in West Indies during November this year. After missing the World Cup by a whisker, the Indian women would be looking to make a statement here.

The Indian Women Squad For The Tour Of South Africa

Harmanpreet Kaur is geared up to don the skipper’s role for the shortest format. On the other hand, Smriti Mandhana has been handed over the vice-captaincy. Mithali Raj is also a part of the squad alongside ace fast bowler Jhulan Goswami and Shikha Pandey.

The team also consists of two wicket-keepers. Both Taniya Bhatia and Nuzhat Parveen have been included in the squad. The Indian tour of South Africa is slated to commence from the 5th of February. The three-match ODI series would be followed by the five-match T20I series.

Here’s the 15-member Indian Women’s squad announced for the T20Is:

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Nuzhat Parveen (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav.

Schedule of the T20Is against South Africa

13th February – 1st T20 International at Potchefstroom

16th February – 2nd T20 International at East London

18th February – 3rd T20 International at Johannesburg

21st February – 4th T20 International at Centurion

24th February – 5th T20 International at Cape Town.