BCCI nominates Virat Kohli for Khel Ratna award, Dravid nominated for Dronacharya award

BCCI nominates Virat Kohli for Khel Ratna award, Dravid nominated for Dronacharya award

Both cricketers have made immense contributions to Indian cricket in the past.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo by Kuntal Chakrabarty/IANS)

India skipper Virat Kohli has grown as a batsman and leader of the side in the past couple of years. The performance of Kohli has skyrocketed which has fetched him a lot of praises and number of awards as well as rewards. The 29-year-old might add another feather to his cap as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recommended the name of the Indian skipper for the prestigious Khel Ratna award.

Notably, Kohli’s name was nominated by the BCCI in 2016 as well but Olympic medal winners PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik and Deepa Karmakar were chosen for the award.

The number 1 and number 2 ranked player in ODIs and Tests respectively has shown some tremendous form for India in the past season which saw India top the ODI and Test rankings. Kohli has already won the prestigious Padma Shri in 2017 and Arjuna Award in 2013 for his contribution to Indian cricket.

Dravid gets the nomination for Dronacharya award, Gavaskar for Lifetime Achievement Award

A coach plays a good role in a young team’s success. Former India skipper Rahul Dravid played the role perfectly when the India U19 side under his mentorship won the World Cup earlier in the year. The BCCI has sent his name to the committee for Dronacharya award following his success with the U19 team.

Vindo Rai, the CoA chief while speaking to the PTI confirmed the nomination of Rahul Dravid. “Yes, we have sent a number of nominations in various categories to the government. Rahul is the BCCI nominee for the Dronacharya award,” said Rai.

Apart from Dravid, former India legend and cricket commentator Sunil Gavaskar’s name has been recommended for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award. Gavaskar held the record of most Test centuries for a long time and has been a cricket commentator for a long time. He was the first ever cricketer to touch the 10,000-run mark in Test cricket.

[interaction id=”5ae0971a3ce6b10d94260941″]