BPL 2019: Imran Tahir to join David Warner-led Sylhet Sixers

BPL 2019: Imran Tahir to join David Warner-led Sylhet Sixers

Tahir is the only Proteas player in the Sixers' squad.

Imran Tahir
Imran Tahir. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

The forthcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is scheduled to get underway on Saturday, January 5 with the contest between Rangpur Riders, the defending champions, and Chittagong Vikings at the iconic Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Even as Rangpur finished the league stage of the erstwhile edition in the fourth position, another team in Sylhet Sixers finished fifth.

They could win only four out of their 12 matches and were subsequently eliminated from the mega tournament. In a bid to turn their fortunes around, the franchise has now roped in Imran Tahir, the veteran spinner from South Africa. He would be playing under the leadership of Australian stalwart David Warner, who is currently serving a year-long ban from Cricket Australia (CA) since March.

A valuable addition

The Sixers made the announcement of his selection via their official Twitter handle. The 39-year-old would join the likes of AB de Villiers, who would be playing for the Riders, in the T20 tournament. Rilee Russouw (Rangpur), Christian Jonker (Rajshahi Kings), Cameron Delport and Robbie Frylinck (Chittagong Vikings) are the other Proteas’ cricketers who would be gracing their presence in the event.

The Sylhet squad is undoubtedly a formidable one. Apart from Warner and Tahir, the Sixers also have the likes of overseas stars in the form of left-arm speedsters Mohammad Irfan and Sohail Tanvir along with all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz (Pakistan), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal) and Fabian Allen (Windies). Sylhet will start their campaign against Comilla Victorians in the third match in Dhaka on January 6.

Here is the Sylhet Sixers squad

Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Liton Das, Sohail Tanvir, David Warner (captain), Sandeep Lamichhane, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Towhid Hridoy, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Irfan, Nabil Samad, Ebadat Hossain, Alok Kapali, Jaker Ali, Gulbadin Naib, Andre Fletcher, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Pat Brown, Nicholas Pooran, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Nawaz

[interaction id=”5c20b0398d11028d9d398a15″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.